Interesting Things | Part 2

Mainak Roy
Mainak Roy
Published in
3 min readJun 30, 2019

“This life is for loving, sharing, learning, smiling, caring, forgiving, laughing, hugging, helping, dancing, wondering, healing, and even more loving. I choose to live life this way. I want to live my life in such a way that when I get out of bed in the morning, the devil says, ‘aw shit, he’s up!”

Steve Maraboli, Unapologetically You: Reflections on Life and the Human Experience

I think I am warming up to this idea of life, so next time you see me don’t extend your arm for a hand-shake, hug it out.

I will shut up now and share with you my list of interesting things for this edition. Please share your finds on the comment section below and also let me know if you like the idea behind this blog.

Readings that pushed me to think

The recent release of Kabir Singh has raised several debates across the intellectual class, I found this interesting article on IDR which throws some light into the power of visual media.

With the dumping grounds filling up with non-degradable waste faster than ever, this free article from The Ken might be what you need to stop adding to the pile.

2 out of the last 7 B-School recommendations I wrote for my friends and colleagues were for an Indian Business School. I hope the numbers rise and this article manages to share some easy next steps for the B-Schools to follow.

“The unexamined life is not worth living.”

Socrates

Here’s are some ideas from Dr Gordon Livingstone that is definitely making me think about how to live a life worth living.

And finally, an interesting take on friendship and its impact. I think I lucked out here.

Photo by Jens Kreuter on Unsplash

Watched

I actually did not watch a lot of things this past fortnight. So, this list if kind of everything I watched and I think I saw some pure gems.

Leila on Netflix, this really pushed me to think about how easy it can be to blur the lines between fiction and reality, you will know what I am talking about once you see it.

This fun poem which I heard at an Unerase x Slam Out Loud event in Delhi. P.S. Fun is definitely not the only adjective to describe this poem.

A TED Talk — enough said!

Photo by Tobias Tullius on Unsplash

Heard

A super cool song by Osho Jain, who I think is definitely going to be the next rage.

Some good old Elvis Presley.

My favourite podcasts by Adam Grant (Work Life) and Jay Shetty (On Purpose). Both these podcasts are available on Spotify, Apple Podcasts and Google Play.

Bonus Reads

The Draft National Education Policy 2019 is open for recommendations from the general public till 31st July 2019. So read it and share your recommendations.

We might have different opinions about the National Democratic Alliance led by Bharatiya Janata Party, but since they are at the helm of the country I think it might be a good idea to read their 2019 election manifesto and keep an eye out for everything they are doing to achieve these promises.

P.S. I have been following this incredible IG account called Notes from your Therapist and it is amazing.

I hope this was useful and fun. Big hug!

--

--

Mainak Roy
Mainak Roy

Co-Founder and CEO at Simple Education Foundation | Committed to ensuring that where we are born does not determine where we go | For ALL children