On growth | Reflections

Mainak Roy
Mainak Roy
Published in
3 min readJul 10, 2022

Last week my friend and teammate Prerna asked me what makes me feel that I am growing. The question was a provocation to dive into reflecting on my journey and going into a bit of existential crisis only to be revived by the happy realisation of growing.

Here are a few insights from the conversation I had with myself. Yes, you read that right.

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

I am solving new problems

Is what you are solving or doing every day changing over the course of your journey? I find myself consistently solving new problems or old problems with newer and deeper niches. It does not mean that the old problems are solved, but there are processes in place to consistently work on those problems — in other words, there was a strategy to solve the older problems and I am now focusing on solving new challenges that are emerging at work.

I am not in a rush

I am not in a rush to solve problems, tackle challenges and hustle. I am calmer in the face of adversity and I am able to take things one step at a time I am not getting overwhelmed as easily.

I have a different perspective on things

Till a few years ago, a grant rejection or a team member transitioning out or critical feedback from a partner made me feel bad. I would feel like I have failed. However, I am increasingly able to see these as challenges and problems that need to be solved. I am able to separate the action from myself and see it more objectively.

My perspective on how our mission can be achieved and how we want to largely run the organisation has also changed, more on that later.

I am more effective

My contributions in the work we do, my feedback to my peers/team, my openness to feedback, my ideas, my ability to solve problems or craft a roadmap to solving a problem and my ability to hold my peers and team members accountable have gotten better over time. I am more effective at work.

I am able to not bring work home

A bit of a weird insight in the age of work from home, right? What I mean here is that I have been able to not carry my challenges and thoughts from work to non-work spaces with my friends and family. I have been able to manage my mind space in a way that I am able to support my work and personal life in service of each other and at the cost of each other.

I am happy #touchwood #lol

This is a bit of a tall claim, so hear me out. I am able to enjoy things in life, find time to read for pleasure, travel, and build and manage relationships better. I am proud of the work I am, and by extension, my organisation is putting out, and the effort and thought that is going behind every action. I am able to see how we are learning and growing. All of this is enough reason to be happy.

How do you define growth? Are you resonating with my insights? Tell me in the comments or if you have my contacts then just send me a text.

--

--

Mainak Roy
Mainak Roy

Co-Founder and CEO at Simple Education Foundation | Committed to ensuring that where we are born does not determine where we go | For ALL children