Meet up with cool guys from Got It

Ngoc-Anh Mai
Ngoc-Anh Mai
Published in
3 min readNov 16, 2017
Me with Fahad Si — Product Manager at Got It

Hôm nay đi nghe Fahad Si, Product Manager của Got It talk về product management in general and in Silicon Valley way, especially in Got It. Fahad nói không to, nhưng rõ ràng và đầy năng lượng. Được nghe các bạn PM khác chia sẻ về công việc của các bạn ấy nữa. Lần này tập trung nghe nên ko take note, h ghi lại vài ý chính còn nhớ thôi:

Product Manager is the one who execute the vision of the company. The core skill of PM is communicate with other team (sales, marketing,…) and engineer. PM need to have the ability to say NO because everyone is building a lot of things at the same time. Fahad often say NO when other team said they want to build this or that several times until they comeback and told him what they really want. And you have to balance at the resource we have and the result we want.

Product Manager doesn’t need to be good at coding, but you should understand enough at a level to communicate with engineer in their language. PM also should understand the process of the other team to make sure you can know what your team and the whole team is doing.
The most important of PM is communicate. Fahad spend 60–70% his time to talk with people at Got It.

Mình có hỏi Fahad một câu, đại ý là PM cần ra rất nhiều quyết định. Fahad có thể chia sẻ về quyết định khó khăn nhất mà mình từng đưa ra ko?

Quyết định khó khăn nhất mà Fahad từng có là đóng cửa startup của mình. Anh ấy từng làm một app suggest quán ăn ở gần địa điểm của người dùng (review, feedback, giá,…). Sau vài tháng họ có 1tr monthly user. Sau 1 năm (mình ko nhớ chính xác con số) thì Google ra một app tương tự. Tất nhiên, với nguồn lực của mình thì Google nhanh chóng vượt lên (Anh ấy cười khi mình bảo mình nghĩ Google sẽ mua lại họ). Fahad quyết định shutdown startup của mình sau 3 năm.
Fahad có tiếc ko? Ko, vì anh ấy đã học được rất nhiều điều sau 3 năm ấy. Từ cách acquire user, PR, management,… Những điều này giúp anh ấy rất nhiều trong CV sau này, cụ thể là khi quyết định chuyển qua làm PM.

Cuối buổi, mình có nói chuyện riêng với Fahad một lúc. Fahad bắt đầu với investment banking và làm trong 5 năm, sau đó học MBA rồi bắt đầu startup. Sau khoảng 9 năm làm việc, anh ấy bắt đầu thử sức với vị trí PM ở tuổi 31. Hmm, sound like I still have time to learn. At least, I’m 10 years younger than him lol.

Fahad cũng có chia sẻ về cách anh ấy học để làm PM. Hầu hết kiến thức về technology đều do anh ấy tự học. “It takes 3 months. I learn to build a website, build an iOS and Android app myself. I usually get in a project when I have somethings to learn. I thought the best way to learn somethings new is practice first, find out where we stuck, then read theory, then back to practice. I use this method since university. I’m not go to class often, so I have to find how to learn myself. And this is the best ways I found.”

Bên cạnh Fahad, mình cũng rất ấn tượng với Dương. Cách Dương nói chuyện rất nhẹ nhàng nhưng đầy nội lực. Và điều mình cảm nhận rõ nhất là sự tự hào khi chia sẻ về công việc hiện tại ở Got It ở cả Dương và Fahad. Keyword được nhắc đến nhiều nhất là “culture”. Both of them (Dương and Fahad) talk proundly about Got It’s culture. Every single time. And I thought anh Hung Tran done his job really well as he said: “I protect my culture”.

The last, thank you anh Peter Do for the warm welcome.

--

--