Meet Julie Goodman — Product Designer at MainStreet

Adam Lehman
Design @ MainStreet
5 min readMar 15, 2022
a collage depicting some of the things Julie is into

Please introduce yourself, what do you do at MainStreet, and what were you doing before this?

Hi! My name is Julie Delilah Goodman and I’m a Product Designer, and the first product design hire at MainStreet. I spend most of my time brainstorming solutions, collaborating, and iterating on designs for MainStreet’s Procurement product.

Prior to joining MainStreet, I spent 3 years as a Product Designer in the Cannabis tech industry, then 3 years at a global agency designing digital products and experiences for the Health, Insurance, Retail, and Hospitality industries.

Where have you lived and which place has been your favorite so far?

San Francisco, CA → North Andover, MA → Boulder, CO → Denver, CO → Durango, CO → Albuquerque, NM.

Favorite place so far is the diamond in the desert — Albuquerque, NM.

a picture of Albuquerque, NM

What led you to being a Product Designer?

Ever since I could remember I’ve been a problem solver. I grew up obsessively trying to think through problems or to come up with an improved solution for something that already exists. The sciences and history were my favorite subjects growing up. The sciences satisfied my need for exploration and critical problem solving. History was (and still is) fascinating to me, because studying human behavior of the past can help us all work towards a better future.

When I first started my career, I was a Digital Designer (Brand, Motion, and UI). At one of my first jobs, I worked with a Product designer who inspired me to grow my skill set by getting into UX design, information architecture, product, and development. Product Design allowed me the chance to express my visual craft as a designer while satisfying my need to solve complex problems using a considerate lens. Product Design is fascinating because it’s a problem-solving discipline used as a method for improving the connections people have to products they use. It doesn’t get much cooler than that.

Why did you choose to join MainStreet?

The team. Everyone is brilliant — from Vlad, the Head of Design, to Doug, our CEO. Everyone I interviewed with conveyed a genuine sense of excitement and care for the company. I had this deep feeling that I would miss out on something huge if I didn’t join.

Do you have any pets and if so can we see pictures?

YES. I have the most beautiful and sweet Brindle Pitbull, named Beta. She’ll be turning 10 in May. She’s my ride or die, my absolute best friend, and my adventure bud. Beta has been blessing my life with her presence since she was 8 weeks old.

a picture of Julie and her dog, Beta

Pen or pencil?

Pen. I prefer to own my mistakes.

Aside from product design, what else are you interested in?

I love my job, truly I do. When I’m not obsessing over design iterations, I enjoy going on road trips with my Pittie, visiting the spa, going to Isotopes baseball games, bowling, hanging with my friends, baking bischochos, practicando Español, listening to synthwave, designing my apartment, and tending to my plants.

What’s one meal you can’t stop thinking about?

9-course Tapas menu from Brugarol Gòtic in Barcelona. My soul died and went to heaven in this tiny Catalonian Izakaya tapas bar.

What is your favorite of the 5 senses? Why?

Such a hard question! I wish I could say all, but if I lost the ability to taste I would need to be committed. Food is life.

What’s one fact about you that tends to surprise others?

When I was 19, I owned a clothing company. My clothing was shown at three fashion shows.

A movie and/or tv series you’d recommend without hesitation to anyone?

I’d recommend everyone watch Donnie Darko at least once. As for a tv series that I watch religiously, Star Trek: Voyager.

a gif from Star Trek: Voyager

Favorite thing about working at MainStreet?

We’re the dream start-up (no one paid her to say this, we promise). I don’t know how else to put it. We have a super strong collaboration culture here across functions at MainStreet. We’re scrappy yet also find the time to refine and hone in our craft. We’re young, but we are moving ridiculously fast with incredible strength. Added bonus: We’ve got an absolutely killer team!

At MainStreet, we aim to save startup founders and small business owners time, money, and peace of mind. Our Design team is a multi-disciplinary group of product designers, researchers, and brand designers.

--

--

Adam Lehman
Design @ MainStreet

Brand Design Lead @ MainStreet. Photographer. Watermelon Enthusiast.