Birth of Volition…

Shyam Wuppuluri
Maitri for all
Published in
2 min readJul 10, 2024

In an Asian metro station, I saw a very young girl with her already born son begging, with her head bent low all day long! I stood for a moment and looked at her asking myself “why does she deserve this kind of life?” And that moment, something very profound happened to me, I wasn’t the same person as before. A sun of volition was born in my heart. Though I mayn’t see her again, this sun of volition allows me to walk on the path of bettering other’s lives as much as I can, without ever falling into despair. Such a volition can be a powerful storehouse of energy!

Not just me, each one of us certainly may have come across such a sight and had glimpsed at the sun of volition rising within. At that moment, we all must have given birth to a strong vow that we will do our best to reduce other’s suffering. But after returning to the humdrum world, the sun of volition slowly got clouded with other things and we lost the connection to this sacred energy that powerfully nourishes us without allowing us to fall into despair or exhaustion.

The art is to never lose sight of our innermost vow. What is clouding my vow? Am I still walking on the path of compassion? — these are the questions we need to ask ourselves several times a day.

#reflection

--

--

Shyam Wuppuluri
Maitri for all

Independent researcher | Interdisciplinary approaches @ Foundations of Sciences, Philosophy & Deep Ecology | Albert Einstein Fellow (Caputh) 2021