Talisman ~

Shyam Wuppuluri
Maitri for all
Published in
2 min readDec 1, 2021

When I was 7 years old, on Diwali’s night I was so frightened by the loud noises of the fireworks around that I developed great fever. My parents rushed me to the doctor and after examining and giving some medicines he gave up informing them that things are out of his hand. As a last resort, my parents rushed me to the Sufi Sahib who resides in a nearby mosque: he put some fragrant ash in the fire, blew it on my forehead, wrote a secret prayer in Urdu, placed it inside the talisman and tied it to my neck. As soon as he tied, out of immense curiosity I attempted to open it to read what’s inside. He smiled gently and asked me never to do so. I then inquired as what he wrote inside. “May you never hurt someone and let them complain to Allah about you” he replied. Of course I very much knew that this isn’t what he wrote inside but just said so to satiate my curiosity.

Next morning the fever vanished. I lost the talisman too a few months later while walking. Whether or not there’s god or miracles, this greatest piece of advise stayed with me and it is something I look upto, always!

#Reflection

--

--

Shyam Wuppuluri
Maitri for all

Independent researcher | Interdisciplinary approaches @ Foundations of Sciences, Philosophy & Deep Ecology | Albert Einstein Fellow (Caputh) 2021