For the love of books and such

lilian thaoxaochay
maivmai
Published in
4 min readJan 3, 2019

Lilian’s Three-ish Book Recs from 2018-ish for 2019

Reading has always been my first love, the umami of my mother tongue. Writing is a secondary, reluctant language I learned to supplement my hunger for stories about myself, my family, and my people. I’m still learning how to portion, balance the two. In the interim, entrée three books which have revived me this year and a recently published chapbook I’m hoping to check off my list in 2019. Give ’em a nibble.

To Whitey & the Cracker Jack by Hauntie (2017): A collection of poems by Hmong American, May Yang, which won the 2016 Robert Dana Anhinga Prize - I was lucky enough to attend a public reading of it at Fresno State earlier this year, and I was absolutely mesmerized by Hauntie/May’s authenticity, vulnerability, and fire. While she largely wrote this to “Whitey” and other “Cracker Jacks”, there are many, many poems which I still felt spoke for me. Hmong American vivncaus should definitely take a peek at the way Hauntie/May weaves her own experiences of loss, growth, and womanhood with the tales of trauma, war, and resiliency we all grow up with and often, ironically swear, I don’t have words, I don’t know how to explain it to you. Hauntie/May might, Hauntie/May does. Also, the cover art is kickass.

All About Love: New Visions by bell hooks (2000/2001): I first encountered bell hooks in college and subsequently pigeon-holed her as a scholar-only kinda author. My “Bad Feminists” Book Club picked this book for our December meeting. In this part theory, part confession, which is absolutely accessible, easy to read, and conversational, but still “researchy”, hooks dissects love in all it’s warts and shining armor. I read it out of order, picking and choosing chapters as I felt they called out to me about “Grace: Touched by Love” to “Loss: Loving into Life and Death”, and back over to “Greed: Simply Love”. hooks has something for every stage or state of your life — it’s not all about romantic love, and as a single, 20-something year old, I seriously appreciated that (LOL) but seriously, pick it up!

And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini (2013): I’ve purchased this book three times since I first spied it in the airport on my way to a conference. I’ve given two copies away because I believe it’s that good, on par with his first novel, The Kite Runner. I have my younger sister reading this and while she hates reading, this book has her hooked. And the Mountains Echoed is essentially the story of two siblings, Abdullah and Pari who are parted as children, and then meet again. I won’t say where, when, or how many tissues you’ll need as Hosseini rocks you to and fro, lulling you across continents and generations of people, and historical as well as personal upheavals. Hosseini’s work might be “fictional”, but it’s themes and characters, from one migrant/refugee child to another, reflect an uncanny reality, echoing tales of regret and sacrifice I too heard/knew growing up. It’s not a read you’ll regret.

Things That Cannot Be Tamed By Khristian Mecom (2018): I’m all about magical realism. If you don’t know what that is — google it, but I was enchanted from the start. Here’s an excerpt of the excerpt posted by the publisher, Honeysuckle Press: “Ida’s grandmother often told the story of their family’s origin: a girl with the gift of prophecy was visited by a raven in a dream. The raven told her that she must leave her family behind and wander the wilderness. But when the girl asked why she must do this, the raven spread his wings and vanished…” Hook, line, and stuck (it) on my 2019 reading list.

Let me know what your favorite reads were this last year and what books you’re looking forward to reading! XX

--

--