Photo by Wagner T. Cassimiro “Aranha” on Flickr-Creative Commons

Hmoob Term for “Queer”— By Carter Kha

Kong Pha
maivmai
Published in
1 min readJun 15, 2018

--

People had asked me,
What is the hmong word for ‘queer’?
And they are always questioning me when i say
I do not need one
They give a soft face, however, when I add,
Because my queerness is my role.
My role to take care of my family,
My community, and myself
.”

Queer is an adjective to my experiences.
Queer is me breaking apart the binaries and choosing what I want.
Queer is a language I do not use nor understand,
Rather to make peace offerings.

Txiv Neej is not always Man
Poj Niam is not always Woman
It can be masculine and feminine
I am both, neither, and beyond
If that is what it takes to reach what I need.

Kuv yug los tu, saib xyuas, kho,
Dhuav tshem kev nyuaj siab kev txhov nyog
Rau kuv niam kuv txiv kwv tij neej tsa
Rau txhua leej txhua tus haiv neeg Hmoob
If this makes me queer, then so be it.

--

--

Kong Pha
maivmai
Writer for

Writer, thinker, reader, professor, scholar, and traveler.