Dreaming from the Ground

Mika Bense Spruill
Makata Collections
Published in
1 min readJul 26, 2017
https://hammihan.com/

You know me,

I’m a dreamer,

A harebrained believer,

And you are the reality

That knocks me down.

Another idea, my genius schemes,

My path to the stars,

And it’s picking up steam.

But you’re the first to name

The mountains in my way.

My new balloon floating higher,

But you showed me I could fall.

My elation shot down; I’m convinced,

You’d have stopped the wind

If it kept me on the ground.

You tell me there’s no safety in a dreamer’s sky.

Don’t want me to fly.

Almost convinced me not to try.

Fearing the air under my feet,

Starting line weighted with defeat.

But now I see the truth, it wasn’t about me.

You just can’t understand,

You were born without wings.

--

--