Unsplash

May 23rd

Dian A.
Makata Collections

--

A bit vague but I could clearly remember
The words you said, the tones you fed
There were so many things in my head
And I am thinking from where this led
We were fighting, but the choice between going on and going out is neither

Oh no, silly me
I was trying and you were fighting
I was trying to fix things, to mend us, to heal us
While you were fighting for your way out, to go about

I know I may have shattered a glass or two
I could pick up the broken pieces
But I will never forget the places
Where the firsts and lasts happened
The in-betweens, I may admit on that too

Truthfully, I do not know when it started
I am afraid we might now know of hatred
You could not even look at me
You know what I will see
But honey, I do not even need to look
To me you are an open book

We kept pushing and pulling
I just wanted you to blurt it out
But you could not say what it was all about
You did not want to admit it too
But honey, the choice now is not for me, neither for you

Until I grew tired of the shouting and bawling
I wiped my tears and cleared my throat
My knees were weak and my hands were trembling
So to avoid the possible loathe
The ending is how this goes

“Something is not right.
I could not keep this fight.
So, please, tell me the truth.
I will be the one to cut the branches and pull the roots.”
A long pause before you have finally let it all out in the air.

“I don’t feel the same way for you anymore.”
God, I wished I just never asked at all.

--

--