12 Rupi Kaur-Style Poems Worth Reading

Alex Bentley
Makata Poetry
Published in
4 min readAug 28, 2021

--

Poet Rupi Kaur holding her newest poetry book, Home Body
Image Source: Rupi Kaur

I was inspired to try my hand at writing Rupi Kaur-style poems after hearing about her Amazon Prime Video exclusive streaming deal.

I thought it would be a fun writing exercise to write a few poems in the same style as her. But I was taken aback by how quickly I could churn out Rupi Kaur-style works.

Keep in mind, the 12 poems you’re about to read don’t follow her typical format, in which she solely uses lowercase letters and no punctuation.

But I did one thing that she does. She first writes her poems as a sentence before going back to add line breaks.

Here are my initial Rupi Kaur-style poems:

1. One Day You Will Learn

Rupi Kaur-style poem by author and poet, Alexander Bentley. Poetry, poems, quotes.

One day you will learn
That we all bleed the same
And when we do
Nobody should tell us
To wipe the blood off
Our faces
Because it is ours
And it is beautiful

2. We Have Been Taught

--

--

Alex Bentley
Makata Poetry

I write about crypto, personal finance, business & tech. Also, I publish a bit of humor to make you laugh.