The Most Inspirational Quote I’ve Read by a Poet

These words of wisdom from Walt Whitman may change how you view life

Alex Bentley
Makata Poetry
Published in
3 min readSep 5, 2021

--

Photo courtesy Pozino on Amazon.

My favorite inspirational quote from a poet is from Walt Whitman.

He wrote:

“Do I contradict myself? Very well, then I contradict myself: I am vast, and I abound in multitudes.”

Walt Whitman was not only a poet, but a philosopher of life and living.

When I read Walt Whitman’s words of wisdom, they bring to mind how all people are different. Within each person lies a unique personality, and they are all unique in their own way.

This implies that you can’t really transform people or what they believe in when it comes to things like passion and ambition, because everyone is so unique. It’s wonderful if someone encourages you, but don’t forget to encourage yourself as well.

We are not giants; we are simply enormous. But we do not deserve to take up so much room. We should never consider ourselves anything more than tiny. We are here for a little while before departing for good. Our purpose is to make an impact and bring about change.

--

--

Alex Bentley
Makata Poetry

I write about crypto, personal finance, business & tech. Also, I publish a bit of humor to make you laugh.