Why Make a Sound?

David Brownstein
Make a Sound
Published in
2 min readJul 1, 2016

This has been an article I’ve been meaning to write for a while. Why start the Friday of July 4th weekend where everybody is on the road and nobody is paying attention? Well, like the theme of today’s article…it’s time to start.

I’m not sure what Make a Sound is yet. I guess it could be called a movement but it sounds a bit pretentious and since I’ve never started one before I can’t be sure what a movement would look like. But I know what the problem is…and I know I want to help.

The problem is the loss CONVERSATION

I think it goes without saying that our society has developed some significant problems in our ability to converse with each other. This does not mean communicate, I think there are 10 different apps alone to let you know about how good my burger was last night. I mean one on one, no devices or screens, personal communication. This especially applies to young people.

Young people are losing their ability to have a conversation. A Pew study shows that by the age of 12, the most popular form of communication with kids is through texting. But because a child’s interpersonal skills have not fully evolved, this lack person to person interaction can dramatically affect their maturation. The ability for humans to have face to face interactions is what MIT psychologist Sherry Turkle calls “a bedrock of development.”

So that’s what this is

This is what the Make a Sound movement is about

To encourage young people to reengage in the essential work of interpersonal conversation. To create a community of like minded people who wish to help in this endeavor.

Our goal is to CREATE CONFIDENCE IN CONVERSATION

I look forward to “conversing” with you about it. It’s time to start.

--

--

David Brownstein
Make a Sound

David is a performer, entrepreneur, follower of the Peter Pan Philosophy, creator of the Make a Sound movement and dog owner.