Maya Keshet
MAKE by Maya Keshet
5 min readSep 28, 2023

--

An Afternoon of Feeding Ducks

I’ve been lucky and have had the chance to travel. Each new place I go is filled with opportunities for new discoveries. There’s always something new to try and to learn. I have noticed that very often these hidden treasures aren’t found around the tourist sites and monuments. Instead, you tend to find them in quieter corners. For me, it’s those simple pleasures and all those little lessons and surprises that make traveling so rewarding.​

One simple pleasure I enjoy whenever I can is to take a little time and go feed ducks. The scenery and the weather vary, naturally, in different corners of the world, and so do the people. But somehow, there are always joyful little hidden surprises when I take time for this tiny getaway. I admit, I used to throw bread to ducks, until a friend from Belgium taught me it isn’t very good for them. Since then, I make sure to get a bag of duck feed (which isn’t expensive, and usually isn’t hard to find).

Lately, I’ve been spending time around Lexington, Kentucky. Lexington is a lovely “little big” city. The people are kind and friendly, and the area is green and very beautiful. Behind the charming independent bookstore Joseph and Beth (Charming, but not small. They have an impressive book collection spread over two floors with a café and restaurant, and another branch in Cincinnati, Ohio), there is a pond with ducks. There are swans, too, and a few cheeky Canadian geese. An afternoon of feeding ducks, followed by browsing a bookstore. What more could my husband and I ask for?

One day when we were there, most of the ducks were out of the water enjoying the sunny afternoon. I sat down on the grass with my box of duck feed, and it quickly became a feast. The braver ducks even ate right out of my hand (but I made sure the more timid ones also got their fair share).​

Then a family walked by: mom, dad, and a little girl around 7 years old. It was clear that the little girl wanted the ducks to gather around her, too. Of course, they only came close to me because I had all that food for them. I went over to the father and his daughter (the mom went to sit in the shade), and offered them some of the duck feed from my box. The little girl did something amazing: gently, with her fingers, she took out a single pellet, thanked me with a shy smile, and went to sit on the curb, trying to decide how to make the best use of her one chance. As there were about 50 ducks around, I asked the dad if he would like to take a bit more. He didn’t take a lot, either, just a little bit, gently and politely. He smiled and thanked me, and joined the child. I stepped back, and the ducks gathered around the father and the girl. When they ran out of the small amount of duck feed they had, the girl looked around, and when I smiled at her she ran to me with a big grin. Overcoming her shyness, she let me pour as much as I could into her little hands, then ran right back to the flock of ducks and her dad. They all seemed to be having fun together.

I took the box, which was still about half full, and went over to where the mother was sitting. I left her the box and assured her my husband and I weren’t in a hurry. When the little girl looked for me again, I smiled and pointed to the box which was now in her mom’s hands. It’s much more pleasant not to have to keep asking for something, I thought. Especially when you’re seven. And just a little bit shy. And especially when the person you need to keep asking is a stranger.

Although our afternoon of feeding ducks didn’t go as planned, it was certainly very enjoyable. My husband and I chatted happily as we watched the nice family from afar. The parents and child were surrounded by dozens of excited ducks, and they all seemed to be having a great time.

Later, the mom came over to bring back the empty box and say goodbye, and my husband and I went on our way. As we were leaving, we waved goodbye to the dad and the girl, who was now dancing in the sun. We headed to the bookstore, and I’m happy to report the rest of the afternoon there was lovely.

While I can’t think of any “big life lesson” I can share with you from this anecdote, I think it illustrates why I warmly recommend taking time (and some duck feed) to go feed ducks. When you do, consider bringing some extra duck feed with you, just in case you meet someone who didn’t bring any.

Thank you for reading this. I hope we all get to spend as much time as possible in places where people and animals enjoy each other.

--

--

Maya Keshet
MAKE by Maya Keshet

Founder & Owner of MA☀️KE by Maya Keshet. Entrepreneur; Author & illustrator of Children’s books; Artist. 🖼 View Portfolio: mayakeshet.com/portfolio