I’ll start at the bottom, thanks.

There are no shortcuts to world domination

Nate Desmond
2 min readFeb 24, 2014

“If you fall behind, run faster. Never give up, never surrender, and rise up against the odds.” — Jesse Jackson

I am a growth hacker. I strive to connect outstanding companies with amazing clients.

Like so many others around the world, I want to be world-class at my chosen expertise.

I want to optimize for SEO, uncover our audience’s concerns, write beautiful content marketing, A/B test like Peep Laja, and design the perfect product.

And I want to be able to do it all today.

But there’s one problem: I’ve only been in marketing for about a year.

Optimistic Thinking ≠ Overnight Success

I can read dozens of books, use A/B testing to cut my CPA by 900%, and attend immersive training programs like Tradecraft, but none of that will make me an Elliot Schmukler tomorrow.

Taking those steps will put me on the fast track and even give me a significant head start, but nothing can replace the years of blood, sweat, and tears required to truly become world-class.

10,000 Hours of Deliberate Practice

So instead of looking for a shortcut to success - perhaps sacrificing a healthy lifestyle in the process - I will focus on steadily building my 10,000 hours of deliberate practice.

Malcom Gladwell popularized the idea of the 10,000 hour rule.

Referencing brilliants from Bill Gates to Bobby Fisher, Gladwell convincingly demonstrates that mastery is unlikely until after 10,000 hours of practice.

Expanding on that theory, Cal Newport shows that 10,000 raw hours alone are not enough. Rather, true mastery requires 10,000 hours (or so) of deliberate practice.

The fall of Icarus — his wax wings melted in the sun.

I’m In A Marathon

So what does all this mean?

Instead of flying on wax wings, I’ll patiently practice here on the ground where I can safely fall.

I’ve learned a tremendous amount in the last year, and I’m excited by everything left to learn.

I’m not running a sprint. I’m pacing a marathon.

Join me.

Nate Desmond is a growth professional who spends his free time reading amazing books and training parkour. He writes frequently about growth marketing on his blog and lifestyle thoughts on Medium.

Unlisted

--

--