Stuck? Switch to “Play Mode”

Jake Knapp
Make Time
Published in
2 min readJan 24, 2018

--

I get stuck a lot. I get stuck writing, editing, making slides, doing designs, replying to email. I get stuck anytime I want to get something right.

My friend Stefan suggested I try a different mindset. Instead of trying to get things right, I should put myself in “Play Mode”. From his email:

In “Play,” just write or work on something you want... At the end, if you like what you’ve done, bring it in... If you don’t, discard it... It’s okay if nothing comes from it.

Right then, I was working on an illustration for part of my book where some early readers got confused. But I wanted to get it right, so I’d been putting it off. Okay, I thought. I can afford to waste an hour on this.

I tried Play Mode. I told myself the next hour didn’t matter—I was just goofing around and having fun. I set a timer. I made about 15 rough sketches. Then the hour was up. And I hadn’t gotten it right. But I’d broken the ice, and I was in the zone, so I kept working. Thirty minutes later, I got an illustration I’m happy with. And the whole thing was fun, rather than stressful. Play Mode worked!

I’m writing this post to remind myself of the value of Play Mode. Next time you talk to me and I say I’m stuck, tell me to flip the switch.

--

--

Jake Knapp
Make Time

Writer, designer, person. Author of SPRINT and MAKE TIME. Co-founder of character.vc. More at jakeknapp.com.