Day 3.Main Course. The joys of docking station functionality

Tom Harker
makeorbreak
Published in
2 min readMay 25, 2016

New pair-programming partner today. I was shocked to see that my new partner had got quite a bit further through the challenges than me the previous day. But I didn’t let this get me down. I knew my time hadn’t been wasted and I knew that if I had rushed it, my code would have likely been unreadable.

Before the pair-programming began, we had a fabulous lecture on how to define classes and behaviours, and construct a calculator in ruby using TDD. He started simple and slowly built up the complexity of the calculator bit by bit, while testing every minute. It was incredible how simple it was to do when it was constructed in this way.

The dynamic between me and my partner was very different to the day before considering that he had already completed many of the challenges. HOWEVER, as we worked through them I began pointing out areas of improvement and much of what he had written the day before became irrelevant with the changes and improvements we made together.

RSpec is where I struggled the most today. We began applying exceptions and instance variables to our spec files and my brain started complaining. While I understand the purpose of RSpec, applying it was really complicated in some instances.

When I look back at today it was incredibly productive, but I will definitely have to read through my code again to make sure I fully understand all the concepts before tomorrow.

Bless the big Gong that Makers Academy have in their main room. They drum the gong every time a graduate gets a job and it is so uplifting if you are struggling.

--

--