MakeInterns — meet Georgie van Heerden.

LukeEngel.
MakeReign.
Published in
3 min readJul 25, 2019

We’ve seen some really cool interns within the walls of MakeReign. Most recently, Georgie joined us for 4 weeks. We tied her up and made her give glowing reviews of her time here. See what she had to say.

Hey! I’m Georgie. I’m 21, I grew up in Cape Town and I’m currently in my third year at the Stellenbosch Academy of Design and Photography. I am studying a BA in Visual Communications and I am majoring in Multimedia Design.

Tell us a bit about what you have been working on here?

Over the last month I got tasked with relooking the employee handbook and turning it into a website that presents MakeReign as a top design studio by looking at their values, team, studio space and all the fun things that come with being a part of the team.

The brief has been awesome — it allowed me to understand the space I was working in fundamentally, and the conceptualisation and design of the brief has pushed me so much as a designer. It’s been really interesting learning to work collectively on something and gain such informative insights and feedback on my work.

We’re glad you enjoyed the brief! What have you learnt whilst here?

I could list the tangible things I’ve learnt in my time at MakeReign in that I’ve definitely up-skilled in terms of my software knowledge, and throughout my brief I’ve learnt so much about web design as a whole. I’ve been challenged daily and inspired to constantly aim to be a better designer and learn more. More so, however, (and probably more importantly,) I’ve gained so much insight into the working world and the industry as a whole. From the day to day things such as how an office is properly run and the interactions you share with colleagues, to the really important stuff like what kind of designer I want to be, and what kind of person I want to be in the design world. I’ve learnt a lot about myself in my time at MakeReign, and I couldn’t be more grateful for the opportunity.

What’s been the best thing about your experience?

The company culture is what drew me to MakeReign and it’s the reason my time here has been so amazing. I have never met a group of people more inspired and more committed not only to making things better and more beautiful than ever before, but also so committed in making sure that everyone has the absolute best time getting there. There is never a dull moment in the office, and the sense of camaraderie and passion that exists in that space makes you feel like anything is possible, and because of that, it is. The best part of my time at MakeReign has been experiencing that.

People are going to definitely think we made you say that! Last one… You started developing the design in Webflow, can you tell us what you think of the platform?

So far, from what I’ve experienced, Webflow is great! It seems to be super powerful in terms of its capabilities and on top of that the resources available (such as help forums and tutorials) are really expansive and super helpful. I think there’s so much potential within Webflow and I’m excited to see what happens with the Culture Manual!

Want to share in a similar experience as Georgie and intern at MakeReign? Drop us an email at info@makereign with the subject ‘MakeInterns’ and tell us how eager you are to learn more about the design craft and why you’d be the perfect fit.

Be sure to follow our journey and connect with us on:

Website | Instagram | Dribbble | Facebook

--

--