Ode to Makerspace

CCC Maker
Makerspace Impact
Published in
2 min readMay 6, 2020

By Dunia Hijaz

Editor’s Note: Dunia Hijaz, a Child Development major, discovered the MakerSpace at Moorpark College while working on a project idea for her Observation class. Upon bringing a sketch of her idea to the MakerSpace, she was welcomed and guided. Not a self-identified maker, Dunia was introduced to a side of her creativity she didn’t know existed before. She plans to incorporate the makerspace and hands-on learning into her future teaching career. When asked to share the effect the space has had on her, she wrote the following poem.

Ode to Makerspace

My mind is like a car moving forward, resembling all my ups and downs on this journey I travel

I am the driver, steering on a path of direction

The farther I go, the farther I succeed

I might fail along the way, but I’m learning from my mistakes

The engine ignites when that thought comes to mind, all I need to do is push to start

3, 2, 1 Go!

Sometimes my gas tank is full, but other times it’s empty

It’s my responsibility to fix anything I break

The radio playing in the background is my thoughts and my ideas

The label on my car is my name — Dunia Hijaz

The year the car was made is the year I began — 2018

The clock represents the countless hours it took to complete

The exterior is my creativity and the interior is my heart and soul

When I press on the brake I need to stop and think, but when the thinking occurs, I press on the gas pedal and I continue on my way

My mind is like a car moving forward, resembling all my ups and downs on this journey I travel

With the support of my seatbelt

I can move slow or I can move fast, but it’s up to me to choose a path.

This poem first appeared in the CCC Maker publication titled “Makerspace Impact: Implementation Strategies & Stories of Transformation” (2019).

--

--

CCC Maker
Makerspace Impact

College maker culture enables students to explore, create, and connect in new creative ways, effectively preparing them for meaningful careers.