Storage - Part 2 (and a quick kitchen drawer update)

Yarin
Making a campervan
Published in
3 min readNov 29, 2017

First, a short update about the work I did since the last post.
The kitchen drawer - in the previous post I described the kitchen drawer and the shortcomings I had in my design, so here’s how I fixed it:

The stove is fixed to a sliding piece of wood on top of the drawer, so the the space underneath is accessible. Also, I have cut the piece of wood that separates the two compartments, making the back compartment more accessible.

The ceiling - since the next stage was building the shelves, I wanted to install a wooden ceiling so I can fix the shelves to it. It also looks nicer:

The standard dimensions of the plywood sheets was slightly narrower, so I had to use to pieces to cover the whole ceiling. It was slightly tedious, but definitely worth it.

The Shelves - I haven’t shared my design for this part as I was a bit short on time, but this is the end result:

In hindsight, I would have made the walls around the shelves higher, it’s more practical. I’ll probably fix it with a string or another piece of wood at some point.

The next stage is about assembling a mattress that can also be a couch, probably using 3 small mattresses; Altering the curtains so they fit the size of the windows, and are fixed to the top and the bottom edges of the window using elastic wires; Packing the car with gear in order to figure out which storage units is needed and make sure they don’t move while the van is moving.

I already got a few mattresses, and I just need to cut one of them into two, and just put a sheet on them to keep them from moving too much.

I decided to keep the current curtains simply because it’s not much work to fit them to the windows, whereas getting a fabric or even getting new curtains involves more work, more time, and more money.
The current curtains already have a sleeve at the bottom, so I just need to put a wire through in order to fix the them to the window.
Since they are too long, I also need to shorten them, and I will do it by folding them in the middle, essentially creating small utility pockets:

Packing the van means finding place for clothes, tools, camping gear, cooking gear, food and probably a bunch of random stuff. When I choose storage units to put under the bed, and create compartments in the kitchen drawer, and shelves, I need to make sure there’s room for everything, and that it’s relatively stable and won’t fly around while I’m driving.

Bottom line, the next stage is about making the van nicer and comfortable, and since I’m aware of my shortcomings regarding this issue (can sleep anywhere, couldn’t be bothered with decorating stuff) but still value the importance, I get a lot of help and learn from amazing friends with good advice and skills.

--

--

Yarin
Making a campervan

Web developer, part-time traveler. Enjoys music, googly-eyes, and making stuff.