The Kitchen Drawer Situation (and a short self-containment update)

Yarin
Making a campervan
Published in
3 min readNov 22, 2017

First, I will update that I passed the self-containment inspection, so Dominga is officially a self-contained vehicle!

As for kitchen drawer, stuff are less smooth at the moment.

I’ve finished building it, and basically it should hold all of my cooking gear (including stove and gas bottle), cutlery, and food, but currently it looks like this:

The problem is that the back compartment is not very accessible due to the piece of wood that separates the compartments, and will be even less accessible when the stove will be attached to the top of the front compartment.

Given the fact that this drawer needs to hold a lot of stuff, I can’t really leave it like that, so after a quick brainstorming with my friends, we came up with a solution:

First, I need to shorten the height of the piece that separates the two compartments, so it will still be there for stability and keeping stuff from moving around, but won’t be in the way of reaching to the back compartment.

Second, I need to add a piece of wood that will cover the front compartment, and that can slide out for accessibility. The stove will be fixed to that pieceof wood, and the gas bottle will be fixed underneath it, to the front-right corner of the front compartment.

Third, I need to figure out how to support the kitchen drawer properly as the solution we came up with puts some more stress on the kitchen drawer’s runners since the stove is hanging on a more distant point from the drawer’s box edge, not to mention pots and pans with food in them.

In my previous post I mentioned how am I going to support the kitchen table, but that idea didn’t work so well:

  1. The legs were wobbly due to two hinges each of them had, so they could fold under the kitchen drawer when it’s in. Maybe if I used a high-quality hinges it would have worked, but I think that having hinges like that is not stable enough to begin with.
  2. The legs had a fixed height, which is problematic given that earth is not flat (or is it?). Hence, legs for the kitchen drawer will have to have a mechanism that will allow me to fine-tune their height.
  3. Folding the legs in and out was a messy and sometimes painful process (hinges + fingers) that also did some damage to the hinges (gravity + wrong side of hinge). I might need to pull out the stove’s drawer only to be able to get stuff from underneath, otherwise it should be in, but I guess that good support solution will help me avoid that.

--

--

Yarin
Making a campervan

Web developer, part-time traveler. Enjoys music, googly-eyes, and making stuff.