Terry Bradshaw’s fumble…

Chris Zaugg
Making an Oak Tree
Published in
2 min readOct 5, 2009

When I was a kid, I really enjoyed watching Terry Bradshaw play football. I loved his fearlessness, his rocket-arm, and his fun-loving personality. I even changed the way I held a football to throw more like he did! As I have watched his career post-football, I have also been impressed by his enthusiasm and genuine knowledge of the game.

I have always enjoyed Terry Bradshaw….until yesterday.

Bradshaw

Yesterday, I just happened upon FOX Football’s segment where the participants get to rant on a topic. Bradshaw decided to rant on Brett Favre’s to return to the NFL after deciding to retire. Despite the fact that I am a Viking fan, I was actually against Favre coming back. I remember watching Willie Mays, Johnny Unitas, Joe Namath and Michael Jordan come back with dubious results, and I didn’t want to see that happen to Favre. Still, as he said at the time, “it’s my legacy”….and he had every right to play again.

What bugged me about Bradshaw’s rant, however, was his criticism of Favre for breaking his word. Bradshaw spoke about how heinous it was for Favre to go back on what he said….to go back on his word.

Uh….Mr. Bradshaw? According to public record, you have thrice stood at the altar with a woman and said “’til death do us part”, or something of the sort. Which concerns you more….someone who has a change of heart regarding their employment history, or someone who breaks a vow in front of family and friends regarding their life partner?

I guess I’ll be watching CBS.

--

--

Chris Zaugg
Making an Oak Tree

Software guy, husband, dad, musician, sports lover and leader of a phenomenal group of people at Uptick! Life is awesome!