Week One

maique
The Back Office
Published in
3 min readJan 26, 2016
River View

A lot of Netflix and Apple Music. That’s what unemployment feels like on the first week. Still haven’t felt the actual Bang!, so far it seems like I’m on an extended weekend.

Had to go to the Employment Center, of course, take care of the paperwork. It was about time we got the process going.

Some papers must go there, some forms must be signed, some papers for me to read, some others that are supposed to be taken to the Social Security, to the hospital and so on. A few sites to visit, a lot of information to look through.

I should have taken Bureaucracy 101 sometime during my life, but somehow missed that one. It would be handy now that I’m dealing with all this for the first time. Living in the bubble for so long, as I did, has advantages. But once you’re out of the thing you have to deal with what is known as The Real World. Not an easy thing.

I am now waiting for them to get back to me, no idea how long it will take. Not even the people who work there can help you with that, sometimes they seem as clueless as the ones they’re trying to help. The process will be long, and turbulent. I’m sure it’ll come up (again and again) on future posts…

Anyway, moving on. The weather is strange around here at the moment, so no photowalks to talk about. I did cross the river a couple of times in the past week, tagging along with people running errands. Not a lot to show, as these were quick, focused, rides.

Hopefully things will speed in the next few weeks and I’ll have something more exciting to share. Back to Netflix for now.

As usual I’m updating my Instagram account on a regular basis. Less words, more photos, what could be sweeter ?

--

--