you are not your clothes.

on capsule wardrobes, self-expression & productivity

Samantha H Porter
Making Waves

--

Last August I decided to do what, for me, was the unthinkable: I decided to downsize my wardrobe.

At the time I was anticipating my move back to Toronto and knew that I would not be able to bring everything I had acquired while in Edinburgh with me when I left in January. I was also very sad about this impending change in my life so as a result I was seriously lacking any motivation I might have had to start clearing out my closet.

That was until I found Un-Fancy. Un-Fancy is a minimalist fashion blog that chronicled blogger Caroline’s journey from a life of too much stuff to one of “more time, contentment, and joy.” I was completely inspired by Caroline’s journey because her relationship with clothes sounded very much like my own:

“Sometimes I would use shopping as a way to jolt myself out of a meh mood with a little instant gratification. Not the worst thing in the world, right? Well…no…but it hit me pretty hard when I realized I wasn’t shopping for clothes–I was shopping for happiness.”

Clothes were many different things for me. Not only were they happiness on days I was feeling down but they were a reward when I did something great. My clothes were, in a way, an outward expression of my emotions and so, understandably, made it harder to part with them throughout my life.

So I made a change. Using the guidelines outlined on Un-Fancy I pared down my wardrobe to the clothes that work together, work for me, and work for the seasons. I am currently on my third capsule and I am so happy with how it’s going. I have purchased some new clothes but have gotten rid of so many more. The purchases I have made though have been planned, budgeted for, and will hopefully last me quite some time. My wardrobe is a lot more simple than much of what used to wear, but it is working for me. I feel lighter, happier and more focused. I have just the right amount of the things I need yet I still feel like I can enjoy fashion, shopping and style. I feel a sense of balance and I love it.

Since making this change I have been very aware of other forms of minimalism and capsule wardrobes and was particularly struck by one story that made waves last month. Matilda Kahl, Art Director for ad firm Saatchi & Saatchi made headlines when her article for Harper’s Bazaar, “Why I Wear the Exact Same Thing to Work Every Day”, was published. This piece intrigued many productivity-lovers and baffled most others, including her coworkers. However, the concept resonated with me because I felt like a lot of what she’s achieved in wearing the same thing every day I have been achieving with a capsule wardrobe: less stress in the morning, less anxiety throughout the day related to how I look (because everything in my wardrobe I love and know I look good in), and the simple fact that when I am a little less creative with my clothes I have more energy and creativity to put into my work and my personality.

I would recommend that anyone, whether you work in a traditional office or for a startup like myself, to minimize your wardrobe and give a capsule a try. Whether that’s a capsule wardrobe in the style of Un-Fancy, extreme minimalism like Miranda Kahl, or something else completely, I can assure you that you won’t regret it.

Reevaluate what you have, determine what you need, and go forth. Find what works for you and remember: you are not your clothes.

You can read more about my adventures in the land of Capsule Wardrobes over at tartanandthyme.com.

Image courtesy of unsplash.com.

--

--

Samantha H Porter
Making Waves

Feet in Toronto/Heart in Edinburgh. Student of #digitaledu (http://tartanandthyme.wordpress.com) & Community Manager @splasheffectca.