Cookie of the Week: Catch up!

makinglittlecents - Deanna Yang
makinglittlecents
Published in
4 min readMay 1, 2013

Because of my concussion and calf injuries I fell off the blogging wagon for a little bit (yes, I’m using my injuries as lame excuses to cover up that it was actually due to pure laziness). But, I’m adamant to get into it again so here is the last 6 weeks of life squished into one blog post.

[gallery type=”square” ids=”1079,1082,1086,1085,1084,1083,1081,1080"]

Week 11’s Cookie of the Week (COTW) was Blueberry Pancake which was a combination of maple flavored dough, blueberry filling, dusted icing sugar and blueberries on top.

Week 12 was the Hot Cross Bun Cookie in celebration of Easter weekend. It was a beautiful combination of spices such as cinnamon and nutmeg with dried fruit and a thin Italian meringue to make the cross.

Week 13’s COTW started off with our joke cookie for April Fool’s Day which was our Steak & Cheese Cookie! To many people’s relief (and to some people’s disappointment!) this was just a joke and our real COTW was the Passionfruit Cheesecake Cookie. It had a passionfruit cheesecake filling with a passionfruit spiral on top.

Week 14 was our ever popular Banoffee Pie. Definitely one of our biggest selling cookies ever — known to sell out within minutes of baking. We used fresh bananas and whipped toffee to form this decadent little treat.

Week 15 we had the Lemon Poppy Seed Cake. Definitely a slower seller than some of the others but everybody who tried it had rave reviews & would often come back for 2 or 3 more after buying their first. This cookie was inspired by the fact that Lemon Poppy Seed cake is my favorite cake of all time so naturally, this cookie is right up there in Deanna’s Hall of Exceptional Cookies.

Week 16 we welcomed in the Marble Triple Chocolate Chunk into the Moustache Cookie Family alongside the release of our new Milo Milkshake. I didn’t think this cookie would do so well because it doesn’t sound as exciting as some of our others but boy, this cookie flew out the door! We marbled together two different types of dough & stuffed it with loads of Whittakers White chocolate, creamy chocolate and dark chocolate.

And finally, week 17 saw the ushering in of another epic cookie…the Cookie Burger. Don’t feel like I need to say much about this one because I think the picture explains it all. We used a combination of two different cookie doughs to form the buns and patty & layered it with chocolate and bubblegum ganache to form a beautiful product. Yesterday we had a queue out the door as soon as we opened and as we furiously tried to make more and more, even the ones that hadn’t even come out of the oven yet, were being sold and people willing to wait.

Unfortunately nearly every week people miss out on our Cookie of the Weeks because they are in such high demand that they sell out much quicker than we can produce them. The Moustache Kitchen is so tiny we can only store so many ingredients at a time and I hope people understand that we really are trying out best to get as much product out there in a feasible way but most of the time, the Cookies of the Week are much more expensive and more laborious to make. Here and there we’ll get people grumbling at us to make more or that it’s not fair that they have missed out when they want it so bad. They keep telling me, “But so many people buy from here, why can’t you just upsize your kitchen and make more? “

I’m still only 22 at this point in time and Moustache is still a baby at only 7 months old. The simple truth is that business is a lot more complex than that. There sometimes seems to be this misunderstanding that we are “rolling in it” without realising that business isn’t like a lottery where money suddenly gets thrown at you. It is excruciating hard work & is a long-term investment. We can’t suddenly upsize at the click of a finger.

But I know that this business is my business, not the world’s business. And all I gotta do is keep doing what I do & staying true to what I want and not what others want from me. How I’ve learnt the most in this business is by making my own decisions and in turn, making my own mistakes. I have made many mistakes. But every one I have learnt from and grown stronger from.

So at this time, I must ask myself, “So Deanna, what is it that you want?”.

I think it is important to continuously ask this question because the answer to this question gives you direction and vision. Right now, the only thing I want is to go to America. I don’t know why but I have this unbelievable thirst to go there. I feel there is something to be discovered about myself there, although I have no idea what that could be.

Despite the business doing well in its first 7 months, I have been pouring all of my money back into the business to reinvest and barely paying myself wages except enough to eat and put a roof over my head. But as of now, I have a little Savings Account titled “The American Dream”. Today, I start saving.

--

--