If you keep running out of money before you run out of days in the month…

Avoid These 7 Budgeting Mistakes to Reach Your Goals

…with a definitive guide on what to do differently

Financial Strategy
Published in
10 min readFeb 7, 2020

--

We had just moved to the US.

We were 30, with two toddlers.

We needed money to buy a used car and some cheap furniture. To raise it, we sold everything we owned that we couldn’t take with us. Our car, our appliances, our TV and hi-fi (yeah, that was a thing back then), and our furniture. When that didn’t bring in enough, we borrowed some money from my parents.

My salary would be just $31,000 and I was locked into that job; worse, my wife’s wasn’t allowed to work at all.

Budgeting wasn’t optional. Keeping a family of 4 afloat on $31,000 wouldn’t be easy.

Almost obsessively, I’d review our budget over and over, trying to figure out where we could cut. I’d convince myself that we could cut our grocery budget by $100 or even $50. Somehow, by the end of the month the total spent on groceries was the same as before.

I tried thinking of something else we could cut. Nada. Our budget was already tight.

--

--

Financial Strategy

Consultant | systems engineer | physicist | writer | avid reader | amateur photographer. I write about personal finance from an often contrarian point of view.