The Best Way to Buy a New Car…

How to Save Money on a New Car in 4 Simple Steps

A definitive guide on buying your next new car below invoice

Financial Strategy
Published in
10 min readJan 20, 2020

--

Since arriving here in 1992, I bought a grand total of 5 cars:

  • In 1992, a used Ford Taurus; donated in 2000 when it no longer made sense to repair it
  • In 1996, a new Dodge Grand Caravan; sold when that made sense
  • In 2000, a new Honda Civic; sold to CarMax in 2013
  • In 2010, a new Toyota Camry; will likely keep for a bit
  • In 2011, a new Toyota Venza; will likely keep for a bit longer

What I Learned from the Cars I Bought

Each time I bought a car, I learned something new.

  • From the first car, I learned that it’s much better to buy new and drive for at least 10 years. That’s why I bought each of my other cars new.
  • From that first car and the second, I learned the importance of buying reliable cars. Both the Taurus and the Grand Caravan spent far too much time in repair shops. Since then, I’ve purchased only Hondas and Toyotas. For those of you who would chastise me that I should buy American, Honda currently holds 3 of the top 5 spots in…

--

--

Opher Ganel
Financial Strategy

Consultant | systems engineer | physicist | writer | avid reader | amateur photographer. I write about personal finance from an often contrarian point of view.