Adrenaline Makes Everything Look Better.

GoPro has always been equivalent to adrenaline in my head.

My very own GoPro Session camera reminds me to call my friends and earn some mileage on the local Go Karts. I’m sure every GoPro owner has a similar feeling with their device.

This ad campaign is an exploration of that idea.

Coming up with the Copy

It was about finding words synonymous with GoPro.

The adventure. The effort. The planning. The adrenaline.

From there I started adding these words to my original idea —Making your action moments look the best. A few hours spent with variations and the main copy was born.

If I was handling GoPro’s account, I would pitch this as a global print ad campaign.

While making the design, I made sure to stick to some design principles I’ve noticed in their other print ads.

Logo in the bottom left or right.

Title case copy.

Natural blue color in the photo.

The Client Pitch

If the Marketing Head of GoPro was sitting across me how would I pitch this campaign to them?

I want audiences across the world to know that the only thing that can truly capture their adrenaline-fueled-moments is a GoPro.

Using carefully placed and targeted billboards, we’re going to make sure adventure junkies experience these print ads during the peak moment of their adrenaline rush.

How?

Scenario 1

A bunch of regular surfing friends are just done with their daily session and now plan on grabbing a snack nearby. As they’re exiting the beach, still talking about how they’re going to show the world their crazy surfing skills, they come across this billboard.

It’s a surfer who looks just like them, who’s got the same passion for adrenaline as them, and here he’s photographed in a super cool way, showing his surfing skills to the world.

Scenario 2

While heading home after a couple of hours of practise, a group of motocross bikers who are discussing new techniques to film come across this billboard.

Sure, I don’t expect them to immediately stop their bike and order a GoPro. But every time after wrapping up practise, they see this billboard on their way home.

Scenario 3

A bunch of regular skiiers are driving down to the usual spot. They’re in the midst of discussing routes and map points when this billboard shows up on the side of the road.

Every single time they drive down to their ski spot, this billboard will be waiting for them.

Closing the Deal

Next I’m going to tell them what impact I expect this creative to have on our audiences.

With the GoPro logo standing out in each billboard creative, the copy supplements the idea in their head:

If adrenaline junkies want their activity to look good, what better than to use a GoPro to film it. Top of Mind Awareness builds up over time, and when in the market looking for an action camera, they’re going to think of nothing else apart from GoPro.

As long as adventure sports enthusiasts exist, this campaign will be relevant.

500 years from now when people are doing backflips over Jupiter’s highest peak on their hoverboards, they’re still going to be using a GoPro to make the adrenaline look good!

--

--

Anway Pramanik
Makings Print Ads For My Favourite Brands

Usually working out on a hamster wheel, but otherwise available to write for you. Drop in a mail at anwaypramanik@gmail.com