Updated cover for the remaster release

Robot Archives (2020 edition)

Makis Tracend
Makis co.
Published in
2 min readSep 12, 2020

--

15 years ago today we released “Robot Archives”, a collaborative project with Fabrizio Gerada (aka DJ SirRound) from Malta and T.I.A., our shadow producer from America. To celebrate the anniversary we’re releasing a remastered version of the album for free, as well as a new remix every week throughout September.

Those were the days…

It’s funny to look back to a futuristic concept (that theoretically still hasn't been realized) but I still have a fond memories from those sessions.

Now, I have to wonder how we even dared to set course for this endeavor; trying to fit a sci-fi story into a concept album while also experimenting with sounds to break out of genre conventions. The boldness of youth!

The Remaster

Admittedly you are safe to wonder why did we need this “new edition”? Well, glad you asked. To begin with, as a bedroom producer at the time I didn't have the resources to buy the best equipment.

Yes, to be bland, I’ll blame my (limited) audio equipment. I don’t even remember the headphones I was using but my mixing computer was modest in 2005 standards. I believe I had an SB Audigy sound card though, which made the PC overall not terrible for music production.

So, as the years went by and good audio equipment reached the consumer market at prices that even we mere mortals can afford, it become more apparent that some of the audio EQ is a bit off. More bass at times, more tremble at times, more mid at times…

But in reality it wasn't as simple as that. Some needed stereo widening and all of them had noise frequency stripping. The hardest thing was to keep a balance in the re-mastering to enhance the original vision without altering it. To meddle with it without loosing the original quality of the tracks.

Listening to the new edition

Overall it’s a “bassy” album and frankly I wouldn't have it any other way.

This is the version of the album I’ll have pumping through my headphones if I want to get that extra oomph.

(Working draft: Revisit to read more information as it is updated)

--

--

Makis Tracend
Makis co.

Chronic web developer. Recent startup founder. Technical lead at K&D Interactive. Product development at Makesites.org. Product Manager at Agon.dev