States

Makis Tracend
Makis co.
Published in
3 min readJul 5, 2024

TL;DR A love letter to the US and a kind reminder of its world defining music history. Have a listen:

[WIP — Content Still Updated]

A few hours ago I released this compilation album of covers and now I’m going to talk a little bit about it here.

Choosing the set list, I didn’t want to go for the obvious selections. Elvis, beach boys, Nirvana etc. some of their song I wouldn’t even try to cover. Instead I went for the somewhat controversial and unique songs that even when they were released they people were on the fence of this is kosher. I mean, we start with a song by Lou Reed, performed by KISS. Odd, risky but brave is the overarching theme of this collection of songs.

I wasn’t born American. I became American by choice.

In 2001 I was watching TV during 9/11 from my uni apartment, soon after a late wake up with a hangover. I was left speechless, amazed by what was presented to me as news. At the time I had no understanding how those events would affect my life in the future…

A bit later, in 2003, I have a vivid memory of listening to Kim Wilde’s “Kids of America” while playing Vice City. Broadly classified as Pop/Rock but definitely an electro tune. Subconsciously, this may have been the blueprint for the production of this album.

I love that song and I loved the experience of listening to it while playing the game. I believe that to be a core memory of mine — left me thinking that one day I will be among “the kids”…

I always liked American spirit and the output of the arts was impressive. A lot of artists found shelter in America and freedom of expression was pinnacle.

I liked that and I thought I’d do that. And I did. It took many years but back in 2011 I entered the US as a bona fide member.

It’s interesting that on a nation level, those ideas still operate. When I entered the US to settle I was given a push like a calf leaving its mother’s embrace. Like “there you go, you are free to do what you want”. It was a feeling of relief and freedom. There’s no other way to describe it. It seemed as if all the invisible borders had been lifted, all the glass ceilings, and I was finally free to operate as the person I was.

What people do with their freedom is another question. Many seek to enrich themselves. Enslaving and controlling people is what companies are doing. When I went to visit Facebook I thought I was going to be among my peers. Instead I felt the general sentiment was that I am an expendable resource. They might as well have said: “Here, this is the slave position we have reserved for you…”

And that was just the tip of the iceberg. Many, many companies tried to offer me “good” positions with high stakes (demands), high rewards that you practically signing off your life, and becoming a cig in someone else’s machine. Until you are laid off without prior warning and then your life loses every sense if value and purpose.

I wanted to pursue other endeavors, more artistic ventures uou could say, like producing this compilation.

But more importantly, the different sentiment is obvious. One side wants you free, the other wants you bonded.

The contrast of how the ideals make you feel in contrast to the practices of companies cannot be understated.

But, enough of the personal journey,

There must be a better way. And I feel it’s not political or even social. It’s ideological. Going back to the original principals that founded the country. And I don’t mean it in an ironic way.

I truly believe in the ideals. Freedom, liberty and the pursuit of happiness for all. And the people that live by those ideals are delightful. Walking angels among us.

Love and respect.

--

--

Makis Tracend
Makis co.

Chronic web developer. Recent startup founder. Technical lead at K&D Interactive. Product development at Makesites.org. Product Manager at Agon.dev