Celebrating the rabble-rousers you admire

Last week, we asked you to tell us about a woman who inspires you. Hundreds of Malala Fund supporters responded with tributes to extraordinary women. Here are a few of your messages:

Malala Fund
Malala Fund - archive
3 min readMar 2, 2017

--

Jane Goodall is a British primatologist.

Eloise, 18, Australia

“Jane Goodall is very influential and inspiring for me as a young woman. She overcame sexism and adversity in her field of science to make important discoveries linking the closeness of humans and primates. Despite her work being rebuffed she pushed forth and proved that we, as a species, are closer to animals than ever before thought. Today she contributes greatly to the causes of environmental conservation as well as peace and unity across the world.”

Ankita and her mother.

Ankita, 17, Nepal

“I am inspired by my mother. I have some problems with my legs, so I need support for walking especially upstairs, downstairs and getting up. She supports me always. She also encourages me to take part in any competitions that I can. On the occasion of Women’s Day I would like to thank my mother for loving me this much. For giving me chance to be educated and making me capable to fight with my problems.”

Tokunbo’s mother Juliet.

Tokunbo, 16, Nigeria

“My mom, Juliet. I didn’t know my family didn’t have money until I asked. She made sure my sister and I never spent a day worrying about anything, but rather lived our days as children and teens to the fullest . She carried the burden of worry all by herself. My mother, without a doubt, is the greatest woman I know.”

Amelia Earhart was the first female pilot to fly across the Atlantic Ocean.

Lori, 20, United States of America

“I am a female pilot in an area where it is not common for women to fly. Amelia Earhart inspires me to push myself and not give up on my goals of exploring the world through flight, and advocating young girls to do the same. I believe Amelia is a role model for not only aspiring pilots, but also any young women who aspire to do something greater in the world.”

Nishtha’s tribute to her her mother Ashu.

Nishtha, 17, India

“My mother, Ashu. My mother is my ultimate source of inspiration. She is an independent woman aware of her rights and moreover duties and responsibilities. She inspires me to be honest, sincere, hard working and aware. She is grace and elegance personified.”

--

--

Malala Fund
Malala Fund - archive

Led by Malala Yousafzai, Malala Fund champions every girl's right to 12 years of free, safe, quality education. Learn more at malala.org.