I’ve heard from girls. Now I want you to hear from them too.

Malala Yousafzai
Malala Fund - archive
2 min readDec 14, 2017

I often say that my story is not unique. It is the story of many girls. So I made it my mission this year to travel around the world to meet girls and hear their stories directly.

I heard from a student in Mosul, who risked her life to save books from a library destroyed by ISIS.

I heard from a girl in Mexico, who cleaned houses with her mother to pay for her education.

I heard from a young woman in Nigeria whose uncle pressured her to get married at 13. She resisted and to‌day she’s studying chemistry at a university.

More than 130 million girls are out of school. While each girl is different, one factor is constant in every story: they all know that education is their only hope for a better future. Their hope inspires me to continue to fight for them. Now I want you to hear from them too.

Over the next few weeks, some incredible young women will be writing to you. To them, 130 million isn’t a statistic — it’s their reality.

The world is a brighter place when girls go to school. Girls’ education grows economies, reduces conflict and improves public health. If one educated girl can change the world, imagine what 130 million girls could do.

--

--

Malala Yousafzai
Malala Fund - archive

Girls' education advocate, Nobel laureate, author, producer and cricket fan