Credit: Malin/HUMAN

This Chibok schoolgirl escaped after being kidnapped by Boko Haram

But so many Nigerian girls are still out of school.

Malala Fund
Malala Fund - archive
1 min readDec 16, 2017

--

On April 14, 2014, Boko Haram took 276 girls from their school in Northern Nigeria. About 113 of the Chibok schoolgirls remain imprisoned. Despite the trauma of kidnapping and Boko Haram’s continued assault on girls’ education, the survivors remain dedicated to their studies and to seeing safe schools for all Nigerian girls. One of the Chibok survivors shared her story with us.

Life is changed now that I escaped from Boko Haram.

I’m not scared anymore. I’m back in school and I’m getting good results. I want to go to university.

Even though I am free, I still think about my sisters in captivity. I think about my sisters across Nigeria who don’t go to school because they fear being kidnapped like we were.

Our communities need educated girls. When a girl goes to school, she helps herself, she helps her family and she helps her community. I’ve received such support since I returned. I want to do the same for other girls.

Malala Fund champions every girl’s right to 12 years of free, safe, quality education. Will you help ensure every girl gets the education she deserves?

--

--

Malala Fund
Malala Fund - archive

Led by Malala Yousafzai, Malala Fund champions every girl's right to 12 years of free, safe, quality education. Learn more at malala.org.