Tributes to trailblazers

Last week, we asked you to tell us about a woman who inspires you. Hundreds of Malala Fund supporters responded with tributes to extraordinary women. Here are a few of your messages:

Malala Fund
Malala Fund - archive
2 min readMar 1, 2017

--

Sana, 18, Saudi Arabia

“The person who inspired me to take my own independent decisions is my teacher. She is a very bold woman. She always says girls should have qualities such as self respect, self confidence and the courage to say what is right and what is wrong. She moulds the character of her students in the best way.”

(Getty Images)

Jenna, 18, United States of America

“Sharing my grandmother’s stories [of when she was freed from concentration camps] is teaching me the power of storytelling and has given me the courage to use my voice to tell the stories of others who are suffering.”

Vaishali and her mother Nirmala.

Vaishali 25, India

“My mother Nirmala is my icon. When building our dream home we had a choice to continue construction with a greedy engineer or stop the construction. She said that she will take care of the construction herself. She faced many hurdles, but remained undeterred. Nobody out there can stop a determined woman.”

Director Sharmeen Obaid Chinoy at the Academy Awards. (Credit: David Fisher/REX/Shutterstock)

Rizwanaa, 33, Pakistan

“My inspiration is Sharmeen Obaid Chinoy, the only two-time Pakistani Oscar winner. I choose her because she is working for the rights of women and girls in Pakistan.”

Lilly Singh on her trip from to Kenya. (Credit: Lilly Singh/@iisuperwomanii)

Jodie, 15, United Kingdom

“I am submitting Lilly Singh because she preaches love, respect and happiness. She raised money to build a school in Kenya that allows many girls who were deprived of the opportunity, to get an education. The world is a better place with her in it.”

--

--

Malala Fund
Malala Fund - archive

Led by Malala Yousafzai, Malala Fund champions every girl's right to 12 years of free, safe, quality education. Learn more at malala.org.