June’s Tarot Creative Writing Prompts

Melancholy Under the Moon

Rose Maligne
Maligne Musings
Published in
2 min readJun 1, 2024

--

Photo by Sanni Sahil on Unsplash

We have reached the period where Spring gives in to Summer. I’ve chosen the Major Arcana card based on this month’s full moon, the Strawberry Moon. Since that is my favorite of the full moons, I’m allowing June to have one of my favorite cards. There’s another card that goes along with The Moon in my Tarot story that I’ve included here, it’s up to you to decide which one it is. There’s some melancholic self-reflection in the prompts here, I hope one of them can be helpful.

The Moon by Rider-Waite-Smith, pic sourced from Wikipedia.

The Moon

This is the card of sensitivity and dreaming, of listening to your third eye. The Moon sits in the sky at night and watches over us all, does her reflected light reach your mind?

A reversed Moon may indicate that you’re closed off, that you’re lying to yourself. Are your subjective and dramatic findings twisting the objective truth a little too far? Look back at the web you’ve spun, how much of it is honest?

The advice here is to slow down. Take a second to close your eyes and listen to what your instincts say your next steps should be.

Prompts:

  • Whose side is the moon on anyway?
  • Write about any recurring dreams/dream themes you’ve had lately.
  • You’re standing still. Where do you need to go?
  • In a field of strawberries, standing in the moonlight, what would you like to do?

There are two more cards over at my substack, So My Muse Says, for paid subs.

--

--

Rose Maligne
Maligne Musings

Writing is a long-lost lover of mine, here is what my muse and I have produced. Enjoy.