Social Studies Distancing: Covid And The Holocaust

Chris Dungan
The blog- Better living
3 min readNov 22, 2020

--

Wait 15 minutes for a professor? I waited for a month

Photo by Vựa Táo on Unsplash

Note: While the question cited in this article may sound paranoid or extremist on the surface, I hope I demonstrate how it serves as an important example to educators nonetheless.

One month ago yesterday I emailed a professor whom I would describe as an education teacher with recognized expertise in the Holocaust (or, as it might be more properly called, Shoah.)

I might do more justice to her studies by including a passage from her profile or naming examples of her work from the university website, but I don’t want to make her identifiable to inflict unwanted attention on her, and this is not about an individual anyway. I could cite experiences about how easy it is to learn about others unintentionally even without the Internet, but that’s for a later article.

I found her email address after having had no contact with her for many years, and while the mere fact of her response indicated I’d written to an address from which I could expect an answer, the content and tone of her reply gave me every reason to think she’d welcome an important question on a topic she’d gotten absorbed in. As she has said in a video, we must not forget the Holocaust, and whether she thinks the observation I conveyed…

--

--

Chris Dungan
The blog- Better living

The biggest problem and achievement of this L.A. based data scientist and sociologist is melding so many interests into unique career steps.