Did My Vote Make Me a Racist?

Scott Erdahl
malconformity
Published in
3 min readFeb 6, 2017

If I fail one test, or even one course, that doesn’t make me a bad student. It’s quite possible I just don’t understand that topic well. Or maybe I had an argument with my girlfriend recently. Or my roommate is untenable.

But if I repeatedly and consistently fail exams or courses, and don’t do anything to change my study habits, then maybe I deserve that label.

If I miss one day of work, or if I take ten coffee breaks one day, that doesn’t make me a bad worker. Maybe I just need to recharge one day. Or just couldn’t sleep the night before. Or ate an undercooked sausage.

But when I repeatedly show up late, call in sick, or don’t finish my projects, maybe I deserve the criticism of being lazy or unreliable.

. . . . .

In many of our day-to-day situations, we believe that effort reflects a person’s character. She’s a diligent student. He’s a hard worker. They gave 110% today. The admiration of this quality is built into the fabric of our society.

In addition, we learn to forgive people for occasional lapses of effort. We can overlook one F, or being late once every so often. We give people a break now and then. After all, we’re all human and things happen. And we ourselves will need to be given a break sometimes too.

But in the long run, observable effort and patterns of behavior are important ways of determining a person’s true intentions.

I believe the label of ‘racist’ works the same way.

We all learn stereotypes and prejudices from a young age. They subconsciously influence our thoughts and reactions to the world around us. Unfortunately, this is unavoidable.

But, all of us also have a choice. We can be lazy, and continue to reinforce those prejudices. Or, we can make an effort to change our thinking. We can earnestly reflect on the challenges that discriminated groups face and flip the false stereotypes we have learned. All of us can choose this pattern of behavior.

If I make one racist comment, maybe I should be given a break without being labeled a racist. Maybe I just had a bad day and vented my frustration in an ugly way. Or maybe I grew up in an environment where racist language was socially acceptable and haven’t yet fully transformed my habits.

But, if I repeatedly make racist comments, subvert ‘Black Lives Matter’ with ‘All Lives Matter’, continually complain about immigrants and refugees, or quickly condemn the black teenager and defend the white cop, maybe there’s a larger pattern worthy of judgment.

If I don’t make an active effort to change or improve, maybe I deserve the label.

. . . . .

We must be careful not to condemn people too easily, especially within politics. There are many different reasons a person could have for voting one way or another.

At the same time though, it is fair, and indeed necessary, to evaluate that opinion or that vote, within the context of a person’s history. It is fair to examine that person’s effort, or lack thereof.

Just because you voted for him doesn’t make you racist. That’s true.

But maybe, your pattern of behavior does.

--

--