Guess Malt: Ilgin, Business Operations Manager in Munich, Germany

Malt
Malt-community
Published in
3 min readApr 28, 2021

Ilgin joined Malt right at the birthdate of Malt Germany. Originally starting as an intern after her MBA in Italy, she soon became an indispensable force for the market launch in Germany and is now leading the business operations in Germany. The main reason for her to join Malt? Community!

Hello Ilgin, can you introduce yourself and tell us about yourself and your role at Malt?

Hello! I am Ilgin, from Istanbul, Turkey.

I am working with the Malt Germany team in the Munich office. I joined Malt almost 2 years ago, as an intern right after my MBA in Italy. Since then, I changed multiple roles but always with the same goal: helping the German team with the market launch.

In my current role, I am managing Business Operations for Germany and working closely with multiple teams on a daily basis.

My goal is delivering internal projects to help the sales and community teams as well as delivering external projects to support our clients and freelancers.

What do you like most about Malt?

Culture! It is something I experience in every aspect of my work life regardless of the scope of the action. We appreciate every effort and help each other to achieve something bigger.

“Community” not only exists in the name of Malt, but in everything.

What has been your greatest achievement since joining Malt?

Self development. From week to week, I keep learning something and investing in myself. I appreciate the trust that has been put in me since day one. This culture of trust gives all of us the autonomy and the opportunity to be the best judge of any task we manage. That’s why my greatest achievement is developing myself and being better than the day before.

What would you say to a candidate who wants to apply to Malt?

Malt is the place where you have room to fail, as long as you keep trying. If you feel you aren’t afraid to fail and are willing to execute on a daily basis, Malt can only motivate you for more.

Specifically applicants for Malt Germany, I can say that, be ready to be working with the most inspiring manager which is our CEO Vincent. This is one of the biggest motivations for me to be able to exchange ideas with the person, who has built Malt with his vision, very closely.

But in general, be ready to be surrounded by clever and ambitious people constantly, which will give you the desire to know more and learn from them.

What do you think the future holds for Malt?

Success! To me that is not only something we should measure with Transaction Value or Booked Revenue (even though it’s important) but also with something like Bhutan’s Gross National Happiness Index — Happiness per employee. That’s why I am excited to track the NPS of each team and work on improvements towards our common goal.

My personal goal is being part of the success of Malt in revolutionizing the world of work and making the life of freelancers and clients better. And as soon as we are able to, I am looking forward to celebrating as a whole team together at one of our offsites :)

--

--

Malt
Malt-community

Our mission: create a world where everyone is free to choose the best people to work with.