Léna Caliari: from Customer Success Representative to Business Developer UK at Malt

Malt
Malt-community
Published in
4 min readMar 2, 2023

Léna Caliari joined Malt in 2017 after completing her studies. After holding various jobs in the Malt Paris office, she took the opportunity of international mobility to move to London, a deliberate choice that she achieved with the support of the Malt team. In this interview, she shares her journey and experiences working at Malt.

Can you tell us a bit about your career before joining Malt?

After high school, I attended a business school that allowed me to spend two years in France and two years in a foreign country. Therefore I studied international business and marketing in North Carolina, with a double degree at the end.

You have been at Malt for five years now. In a time where companies face challenges retaining employees, how do you explain your longevity with the company?

When I joined in 2017, there were only 40 employees in France in Paris and Lyon. But I quickly realized the company’s potential. Today we are 600 and still growing, which is motivating!

Also, I’ve changed jobs 3 times. I started as Customer Support Representative, then I moved to a Customer Success Manager position and finally as a UK Business Developer.
There are many employees who have progressed through either vertical or horizontal mobility, in existing jobs or new ones that were created along the way. For example, the “Customer Success” team was created from a suggestion by a former account manager.

Is internal and international mobility a crucial factor in employee loyalty to the company?

Definitely. Malt is open-minded for any type of mobility and this is a very important thing for me. When I finished high school, I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do, but I knew I wanted to explore other countries and cultures. I had a particular interest in English-speaking culture.

What other aspects of the company culture promote mobility?

The main support comes from managers who listen and take our development into consideration. When I moved from Support to Customer Success, Estelle (Head of Sales at the time), recommended me for the job. Malt doesn’t try to hold employees back. Also, we have the opportunity to interact with many teams. When I was in Support, I worked closely with everyone, giving me an insight into what others were doing, which naturally made me want to join them.

How was your move to the UK?

I first went to the UK in September 2022 to meet the team. After completing all the administrative procedures and obtaining my visa, I arrived in London in early January. Malt provided a relocation package to help me settle in and I was not alone. I joined the UK team (composed of 17 people) along with Quentin, the General Manager of Northern Europe, and Javier, Key Account Manager. Before finding a permanent place to stay, Malt arranged for me to stay in an Airbnb. So everything was pretty smooth!

In your professional development at Malt, do you see yourself pursuing horizontal mobility or moving into managerial positions over time?

I have always enjoyed horizontal mobility. Currently, I do not see myself as a manager, but I may consider managing a small team in the future. Regardless, we are supported in our development, with HR reviews every six months to assess our progress and set new objectives. I know I can evolve as an individual contributor or as a manager if I want to.

Was Malt’s international expansion a catalyst for your move to the UK?

I have always wanted to return to an English-speaking environment. I am familiar with London and it has always been a city that attracted me. Malt’s acquisition of Comatch, which already had an office in London for four years, was a trigger. I enjoy speaking English and London is a very international city with many opportunities. It also presents daily challenges, as the freelance market is established Malt has a huge opportunity to grow

Generally, how does mobility work at Malt? Is it structured or more organic?

Actually, both! At Malt, any job opening starts with the possibility for an internal move, and we have great communication channels like Slack or email. Additionally, we receive HR newsletters every 2 months with the list of all available positions and testimonials from those who have done internal or international mobility. The HR team is also working on other initiatives to encourage mobility.

What is your current job?

As a UK business developer, I work on finding new clients in the retail and consumer goods sector, leveraging Malt’s 10-year history to reach out to companies that already know us in Europe. On a day-to-day basis, I am involved in:

  • Prospecting new clients and building on existing international contracts
  • Convince them of the benefits of using a platform that federates the leading community of freelancers in Europe
  • Engaging with our growing freelancer community to understand their needs
  • Handling both large and small to medium-sized accounts (SMEs)
  • Become a trusted advisor for a selection of your key clients
  • Supporting the sourcing efforts
  • Getting to know the UK market
  • Analyzing feedback from clients and freelancers to make sure the product is well adapted to the market
  • Tailoring my approach to fit local cultural norms
  • Promoting teamwork between the Malt and Comatch teams

What would you say to someone who is interested in joining Malt?

I have been at Malt since I started working and have already been promoted three times! It shows that the company culture is not just a buzzword, and there are real opportunities to change careers within the company. Everyone is supportive, and I truly look forward to going to work every day. The culture is energizing and the people are open-minded. So I would say go for it!

Get your ticket to Malt on careers.malt.com

--

--

Malt
Malt-community

Our mission: create a world where everyone is free to choose the best people to work with.