How to deal with Facebook updates when you have infertility?

Soleine Scotney
Mama Nobody
Published in
3 min readSep 28, 2017

You can be the moon and still be jealous of the stars”. Gary Allan

Facebook is a minefield for anyone with infertility. Open your “home” and you may find so much you don’t want to see. That person you met 10 years ago in a debating competition? They just had a second baby and 300 likes?

Personally, Facebook was a huge trigger for jealousy and sadness, so what I wrote on how to deal with these feelings really applies. I am already jealous when I see two women I have never met followed by four children, so of course I am going to be jealous of my baby-holding, fat-bellied friends on Facebook. At the same time, I couldn’t decide to come off it entirely. Especially because in Nairobi, so much of one’s social life is organized through the social network.

The Minefield

To survive, I’d recommend doing the following:

· As soon as an acquaintance posts a photo of a belly or a baby, “unfollow” them. This can be done by a right click, and they won’t be notified. You’ll remain friends, but just never see there updates. I always apply this rules except for my very closest friends. It’s the safest strategy: as soon as one of those belly / baby pictures gets posted, my experience tells me many will follow, and I don’t want to be sad each time. My Facebook feed as a result is pretty child-free.

· Turn off all pregnancy and baby adds. I keep on receiving these adds because Facebook knows that I’ve been married a couple of years, that I am 30, etc. But there is an option in the Facebook settings to specify that you don’t want to receive any family-oriented adds. When they still show up, I right click and select “Don’t show me this type of content”

· Remember that our Facebook lives are not our real lives. Sure, it’s a real baby, but you don’t know what else may be happening in that person’s life

· Apply your own rules to yourself. I now regret posting 200+ pictures of my wedding 4 years ago, because I could see how this would be obnoxious to my single friends

· If you feel like it, share your infertility story on Facebook. Some people have tried it and say they actually get a lot of support messages. It can help to be that open — in time, it will make more people sensitive to the fact that posting their baby’s ultrasound pictures on Facebook can create sadness. I didn’t do that for most of my infertility journey, but I do have a few friends of friends who I know also have infertility issues with whom I am in contact through Facebook.

--

--