The ONE Difference between VIP and the General Population (at Archangel Summit)

Nancy Ma
MamaBoss
Published in
5 min readSep 10, 2018

What were you doing on September 8, 2018?

I was at the most incredibly educating and entertaining full weekend experience of my life.

JP Sears — funniest host ever!

That’s quite a statement considering I’m 34 and have traveled the world and seen many incredibly places, met many incredibly people, and have had many incredible experiences.

And this past weekend, I felt like the most extraordinary of my life’s experiences were wrapped up and packaged into one event: The Archangel Summit.

This event was like no other. There were acrobats, fire breathers, opera singers, comedians, inspiring stories, funny stories, great food, and amazing people.

I’ve never cried more, laughed louder, or hugged harder.

And after it was all done, I asked myself, what was so special about this experience? Why was this the MOST impactful?

I looked around at all the people I was with. Everyone had an amazing time too, it seemed. But the people who had the best time, were the people who had VIP tickets.

I didn’t start out with VIP tickets. Actually, I started off not wanting to go at all. I saw the lineup of speakers. All incredible.

My idols and mentors: Brendon Burchard, Arlene Dickinson, Sally Hogshead, JP Sears, Dandapani,Jim Kwik, JJ Virgin, Dr. Mark Hyman, and Dave Asprey. I’ve seen all their stuff online before. Why would I pay to go see them in person when I could watch from the comfort of my own home?

Biohacking Panel for Archangel Superheroes

In fact, I am traveling to go see Brendon Burchard and do his Certified High Performance Coaching program that I paid $10K USD for in November. So, why would I see him here? I didn’t want to keep spending money.

But then my hubby convinced me to sign up for Angel tickets because we would get the opportunity to audition for a chance at being on stage with our favourite leaders, so we got tickets. Even though neither of us got selected to be on stage, we had a very humble learning experience going through that . More on that and how to deal with rejection on camera on this blog here.

The week before the event, we had the opportunity to purchase VIP tickets. I told my hubby Brian NO WAY. It’s too much money!

I have to get my business up and going so we can’t keep spending money on distractions.

As soon as I said it, I knew what was wrong with what I said.

Being V.I.P. has nothing to do with status and has everything to do with the person making the choice to be very important.

Not as a comparison to others, but in comparison to the future self.

When we see a price tag on a shirt we like, in that moment, we have to decide if the value of the shirt is worth more to us than the price states. If it is, then we buy it, and if it isn’t then we put it back down.

When considering to invest in an event like the Archangel Summit where the panel lineup speaks for itself, we are deciding whether or not our future self is worth the investment.

Brian convinced me to convince myself that I am.

Before the weekend, I told Brian that I didn’t want to buy tickets for next year now. I wanted to wait until later.

So on the Friday, we got to attend a full day’s worth of master classes that was only available to the V.I.P. ticket holders.

Brian chose to be in the SCALE & GROW group and I chose the PACKAGE YOUR WISDOM group. We promised each other to share everything we learned and compared notes.

On the Friday, Brian learned from Alex Charfen that the general population, affectionately referred to as the ‘Gen Pop’ are the 80% of any group of people who represent the majority. The 20% are the different ones, more likely to be considered ‘fascinating’ or different.

I learned from Chris Winfield that the extra mile is less crowded, which is where the V.I.P ticket holders hang out.

Marianne Williamson taught me that we are all special but none on us are special because we are all different.

So if we are all special, what’s the difference between VIP and the Gen Pop?

The V.I.P. know we are different.

And that knowledge, that extra level of cognition compels us to make decisions and investments on our differences.

Decisions like paying double or triple on tickets because we know that it’ll pay off.

We know that the extra mile is less crowded.

We know that we are not better than anyone else, including people who are in the general population. We are not smarter, nicer, or better looking.

We just know that we are different.

We BELIEVE in our differences so much that we invest in it.

What I learned on Friday was that I’m going to have to keep re-investing in myself as I grow. It’s not a one time deal or purchase.

Don’t get me wrong.

The V.I.P. experience at the Archangel Summit was off the hook.

We got over $500 in goodies. We got front row seating at a show which is worth double. We got snacks and a catered lunch and dinner. We got well over $2400 worth in dollar value.

But that’s not even the best part.

The best part was feeling like I was home. Like I was with my tribe. That I was surrounded by people who finally get me.

I made some incredible bonds and I’m pretty sure friendships that will last a lifetime.

I met the best people in the master classes. I learned from the top leading experts in entrepreneurship and personal development.

I got to take Dean Jackson out to lunch and paid for it!!

I got to hug Brendon Burchard and tell him in person how much of an impact he’s had on my life and my family’s life.

me and my favourite men (Brendon Burchard & Brian Hoa)

So immediately after the show, we purchased our VIP tickets for next year. Because I know that the event is worth it. The tribe is worth it.

But most importantly, I know that I am worth it.

I urge you to get tickets to the show for next year. It’s worth it. At any level. What ticket you get represents where you are in your business and in your life.

Are you worth the investment?

--

--

Nancy Ma
MamaBoss
Editor for

Physiotherapist, Yoga Teacher, High Performance Life Coach, Entrepreneur, Mama of 2 and Humbled Life Student