People of Pennsylvania

Photos courtesy of Alison Capaldi, Ed McGaley, Zoe Skutaris, Eli Kalish, Sophie Roth, and Emily Renner

Zoe Skutaris
Mamaroneck Associated Press
7 min readNov 6, 2016

--

From left to right; Stefan Jones, Bill Rutter, Kaleigh Quinnan

Stefan Jones, “I’d go with Hillary based off of everything she’s been doing. On top of that, I like her husband, so I’m going to go with her.

Bill Rutter, “I don’t back any of the candidates this year. Typically, I would go with morality, you know, I would look at the views and where their positions are. I don’t believe that the government should control or tell anybody how they should live their life, so I sort of follow that theory. That’s where I stand.”

Kaleigh Quinnan, “So I support Hillary Clinton, even though I can’t vote because I’m not 18 yet. Really, I just dislike Donald Trump a lot. I like that Hillary Clinton and persistent and strong. She doesn’t really back down from a fight. I like that quality and think that would be good if she wins the election, but there isn’t something about her that I’m like wow — me.”

John Pickering, “I’m not sure I really connect with either candidate. I’m in my mid-50s, so I tend not to vote as much on who I like anymore. It’s a lot more about what they’ve done then what they say they’re going to do. I’m big on policy and where they think they want to take the country, but people forget we’ve got Congress and we’ve got a Supreme Court so it’s not all about the president.”

John Sylvester, “I feel like it’s kind of the lesser of two evils things and it shouldn’t be.”

Stephanie Tetlow, “I don’t connect with either candidate. I hate Trump and I’m not a huge fan of Hillary. I’d love to see Bernie, but he is needed in the Senate right now. There is absolutely no connection at all.”

Robert Ottinger, “I didn’t vote for anybody. I’m 18, but I still didn’t vote. I ain’t voting for Trump I’ll tell you that. I’d vote for Hillary”

From left to right; Macfarlane Hoffman, Thomas Callaghy, Bill Chism

Macfarlane Hoffman, “I don’t connect with the candidate I’m supporting. It’s just the lesser of two evils.”

Thomas Callaghy, “Well I mean Hillary has been around forever, as Trump keeps saying. Mostly good, however. My DNA is politics, so I follow it. All the time, whether there are elections or not.”

Bill Chism, “To be honest with you, I don’t like any candidate. And I think we’re screwed either way. Hillary is just along the same path as what we’ve been doing the last 8 years. She’s on Obama’s back and she’s just gonna follow the same path and I think Trump is a loud mouth and speaks before he thinks.”

From left to right; Dave Dougherty, Kyra Harvey, Jordan Schwartz

Dave Dougherty, “This is my second election I can vote in, and I feel like I’m in a stalemate. Last election, it was a bit different. It was who you wanted to vote for, and I’d see on social media and all that other fun stuff, everyone saying who they like least. I was on the Bernie Sanders wave and now I’m leaning towards Third Party, but I know everyone’s voting who they like least out of the main two. So, I just want to see something positive. Every commercial I’ve seen is ‘why not to vote for this person.’ I like the Third Party because they kind of say ‘why vote for me.”

Kyra Harvey, “I’m voting for Hillary. First of all, just being a woman in this world is hard and I identify with a lot of the issues that she’s fighting for. I think her platforms when it comes to racial relations, immigration, women’s rights — those are all very important to me.”

Jordan Schwartz, “I care a great deal about foreign policy and for that reason, among many others, I’m a big supporter of Hillary. Also, her support of LGBT, women’s issues, and advocacy for human rights are very important to me and I believe we will be much better of as a nation with her rather than her opponent. I think this election as a whole is maybe very frustrating but also coming out here and working and seeing all the passion among our supporters has made me really inspired about the future of America and the future of this party and people who are willing to go out and try to make a difference.”

From left to right; Hayley, Sophia, Joe Dobkin

Hayley, “Well honestly… I think it’s kind of like a hard election because I grew up republican, like that’s my background. So then economically that’s where I stand but obviously socially, I am completely on the liberal side so it’s hard being torn I guess in between two candidates. I can’t see myself voting for someone who has said some of the things that Trump has said. It’s a very touch situation and election.”

Sophia, “So I’m pretty terrified I guess for this election so I hope Hillary wins because I really don’t want Donald Trump to win. I also don’t love Hillary that much. With mass incarceration and all of this stuff she’s got a lot of issues she’s really blind to. At the same time, she’s not as bad as Trump so I feel she’s like the lesser of two evils.”

Joe Dobkin, “I think that the Trump campaign has allowed people to embrace a lot of bigotry a lot more, to get it out in the open and be more bold with a lot of different types of bigotry: against women, against immigrants, against people of color, across the board. To some extent that’s necessary if that’s all still there and part of our culture under the surface. The hopeful view of that is that bringing it up to the surface is a way to confront it.”

From left to right; Natalie V., Steve, Rob W.

Natalie V., “I’m voting for democrats, and Hillary is the democratic candidate. I think it’s very important for the democrats to win the presidential election and legislature.”

Steve, “To be honest with you, I really feel that I should do a write in. I might just write in my own name. It should be anybody but either of them. They both just scare me so much. I can’t stomach the thought of supporting either. The safest bet is maybe someone like Gary Johnson, because, at least he’s not as god awful as both of them. He’s done a lot less terrible things to the world. I really can’t support either of them”

Rob W., “I think the thing that I am most afraid of is that the citizens no longer have a say in what is going on anymore. It is all determind by big business and behind closed doors. We as individuals have lost what made our voice. If Hillary Clinton is elected I don’t think much is going to change but I hope some will. I think she’s too hooked up with big business and the banks. If Trump is electedthere is really no telling what can happen that’s a total wildcard. I don’t think anyone knows what’s going to happen.”

From left to right; Evangeline, Shakar, Jack B. and Bun

Evangeline, “I’m worried about voting in general. I’m worried people won’t vote at all because they think it’s a lost cause”

Shakar, “I’m worried about about being able to stay in this country.”

Jack B., “Certainly don’t want Donald Trump to win, he’s too irresponsible and erratic.”

Bun, “If Donald Trump won it would be bad, we have a lot of social issues in our country that needs to be dealt with. I don’t know if Hillary Clinton can do it, but she’s a lot better than him.”

--

--