Breastfeeding & Scents

Irina
Mamastay
Published in
2 min readOct 24, 2017

How a scent affected my breastfeeding newborn

Just some interesting findings and thoughts on something I discovered while nursing my 3-week old daughter…

A while ago before I was pregnant and winter had started, I purchased some L’Occitane hand lotions because my skin was feeling super SUPER dry and I wanted to indulge in some toiletries and you know — relieve my dry skin but also buy cosmetics in cute Holiday packaging.

I stocked up on these lotions — and got a bottle for the bathroom, the kitchen, a tube for my backpack, etc. (I was feeling extra dry, ok,)

The further I got in my pregnancy the more aversions to scents I developed.

So I didn’t end up using the hand lotions for a while, throughout the summer and then the recent months since I haven’t had any skin dryness to deal with so the lotions have kind of just been sitting there.

When the baby got here in late October and the weather got dryer again I figured my aversion to most scents should be gone.

So when my skin got dry after doing some housework I went ahead and used the lotion on my hands after washing them and then I sat down to nurse my baby.

I found that when I brought my fingers next to her face to kind of assist her latch she would pull her face away!

This happened multiple times, and so it seems to me that she does not enjoy the scent of the lotion!

Just something to keep in mind if you find your baby bouncing away from your boob and kind of looking a little bit annoyed at nursing.

Take a peek at what soap you’re using or lotion because it might be annoying to baby.

Some food for thought and if I find a lotion that is less abrasive in scent and my baby is a little bit more time tolerant toward it, I’ll be sure to share.

Subsequently, i went and looked up the ingredients on EWG and found the lotion to be full of junk. So good riddance!

Let me know if anything similar happened to you!

Originally published at lazysister.com on October 24, 2017.

--

--

Irina
Mamastay

First time mom, lifelong learner, storyteller. Sharing my self-experiments in maternal wellbeing. On a mission to help moms of the world feel their best.