Five Key Traits Of A Sales Manager

How To Be One Before You Are One

Drake's Sales & Management Tips
Management Matters

--

Photo by Tim Mossholder Pexels

My understanding of what it takes to be a great manager started from asking my boss early in my career. Standing in the doorway of my General Sales Manager’s office after two years of sales success, his reply was brief yet full of direction, “Act like one.”

From that response, I understood that titles were not a key; management is an earned position. My peers would gravitate to me for help, encouragement, and direction as I supported them first. “Be one before you are one” was my new mantra.

Decades later, managers are recalibrating what they need in a sales manager in this critical and unique environment for sales. After my thirty-five years of management experience, here are five attributes to consider in choosing your next sales manager.

1. A Work Ethic

A great sales manager should be a compass who can direct a team by setting an example and defining qualities that drive success. Nothing in sales comes without hard work and dedicated effort, and a manager as a role model will earn respect from their team.

A great manager is not afraid to jump in and do anything they ask their team to do. Leading by example is still vital, no matter the state of the industry or competitive landscape.

--

--

Drake's Sales & Management Tips
Management Matters

Management and sales strategies to support your growth. Tips on fueling your revenue journey. Visit "List" tab for articles by topic.