How to Answer Tough Questions

Ray Carnes
Management Matters
Published in
5 min readMay 16, 2023

--

I have all the right answers… if you only ask the right questions?

I’ve been in countless meetings where I asked a simple ‘Yes’ or ‘No’ question? And I’m always surprised (and disappointed) that most presenters can’t help themselves. Perhaps they want to show how smart they are… and begin to elaborate the full background… and five or so minutes later… if you are lucky… they may finish their response with ‘yes’ or ‘no’.

As a leader, I already trust that you know the details. That’s why I hired you. Now, your job in this meeting is to just answer the

--

--

Ray Carnes
Management Matters

Transformational Leader, Large-scale Systems Architect and Software Developer, Executive Coach, Author, Musician, and aspiring triathlete.