Leading Teams to Excel

How I Used the Skill/Will Matrix as a Manager

Pinnacle Project
Management Matters

--

As a manager, I’ve often had to lead diverse teams with members of varying levels of skills and motivation. This posed a challenge for me whenever I had to determine the right approach to use in managing the performance of my team members. That is, until I discovered the Skill/Will Matrix.

Image by Author created in Powerpoint

The Skill/Will Matrix

The Skill/Will matrix is a 2×2 quadrant tool that categorizes employees based on their skill level and willingness to perform. It is derived from the model of situational leadership created by Paul Hersey and Ken Blanchard in the 1970s. The matrix typically consists of four quadrants with each quadrant guiding my management approach.

Skill is the individual’s capabilities derived from experience, training, knowledge, and natural ability. Whereas Will is the individual’s desire to succeed derived from attitude, incentives, confidence, and personal feelings. It is the combination of these two factors that categorizes the employee and suggests the type of approach that I could use. Here’s how I interpreted the quadrant categories and applied the approaches:

1. High Skill/High Will.

They are the top performers who are the pillar of your team. They’re skilled and motivated., and the ones you rely on…

--

--

Pinnacle Project
Management Matters

Course Creator / Learning Facilitator / Ready-to-use Course Kits. Deliver impactful courses with our ready-to-use training materials. www.pinnacleproject.co