Lessons Learned From My Journey as a Software Engineering Manager

I’m thrilled to be sharing some insights from a recent podcast experience

Séverin Bruhat
Management Matters
3 min readJun 19, 2024

--

Source: Evo Inspires Podcast

I recently got the chance to reflect on my experience working as a software engineering manager. Today, I want to expand on the three key questions posed to me and hopefully provide some food for thought for others looking to grow and succeed as a tech leader.

Career Advice I Wish I’d Received

The Engineering Manager role has less day-to-day interaction with their peers compared to a software engineer role.

When you are a developer in a team it’s easy to bounce ideas with others and get help when you are stuck. When you are a manager, it’s different, you don’t have many peers to talk to, at least not in your team.

I’ve learned the crucial importance of building a strong support network.

If you want to learn, share your knowledge, bounce ideas or seek guidance, you need to start building a network and use the right tools as early as you can.

For instance, I follow engineering leaders on Twitter: Pat Kua, Valerie Dryden, Meri Williams and many more.

I am also part of a couple of Slack communities (LeadDev, EngManagers) so I can learn from my peers or post questions. It’s also good to attend meetups (though I admit I could be better at that🙈).

You can also be proactive within your company: talk to your peers, join a book club (maybe create one) and get a mentor and/or a mentee. Trust me, there are lots of opportunities out there.

I think surrounding yourself with a supportive network is essential for growth in any career path, but particularly if you are a manager.

A Pivotal Moment in My Career

About ten years ago, I wanted to leave my first job. I felt unsure about applying for a role I really wanted: technical director in a digital agency. I worried about the lack of management experience. I guess the good old impostor syndrome kicked in.

My manager, a great friend, gave me a push. He said, “If you don’t try, you’ll never find out.”

So I listened and applied for a few roles. Even though I had zero experience leading a team. And guess what? I eventually got the job!

This was pivotal for two reasons:

  1. It showed me that stepping outside your comfort zone is key
  2. I found that I enjoy managing people

My Strategy for Overcoming Setbacks

With experience, I’ve learned to step back and think before making any decision. So I tackle challenges by taking a step back first.

Clear thinking is key, it’s important to remove emotions from the situation.

Then I assess the problem and the impact. Can I fix it? Can I impact the outcome? If not, I accept it and move on. If there’s a solution, I carefully consider all options before making a decision, seeking advice when needed. And take action

Work-life balance is crucial too. To be sharp and efficient at work you need to be focused. I need to disconnect and recharge. That means hobbies and time with loved ones.

Another important key is to choose your battles. When you are a manager, you constantly deal with problems/challenges. You need to prioritise and make some choices.

These lessons may seem obvious, but experience is frequently the best teacher. I sincerely hope that thinking back on these times benefits you as much as it does me.

Adopt a growth mentality, and identify your turning points. Never stop reframing, refocusing, and reaching out when faced with obstacles.

Watch the Evo Inspires Podcast!

Thank you for taking the time to read this article. If you enjoyed it, I would greatly appreciate your support with a round of applause 👏.

You can give up to 50 claps 😉

Feel free to stay connected for more exciting content in the future by following me. Your feedback and readership mean the world to me! 😊

--

--

Séverin Bruhat
Management Matters

Software Engineering Manager (Scotland, UK). Writing about team management, leadership and software engineering.