Perception - why does it matter for Managers?

In this blog, I will talk about how a promotion opportunity was missed due to a wrong perception of me.

Srihari Udugani
Management Matters

--

Photo by Brendan Church on Unsplash

Many managers sometimes don’t understand why peer managers and supervisors are unhappy with us even after doing everything right.

In my case, the reason was Perception. Among my peer managers, I was considered a non-supporter of new ideas.

But I never was. I always took new ideas seriously and helped to analyze the risks that must be taken care of before implementing them, was quick in identifying the problems that came with it, and so on.

I never understood why my peers had this wrong thought about me.

In this blog, I will share my story about how a wrong perception took away my opportunity for a promotion.

The situation

It was the year 2015, I was transitioning to a management role. This was my first time being a manager.

It was exciting as well as exhausting due to all the wrong steps that were taken during the transition.

By this year, I had been in this company for 8 years and I knew the product in and out. So any question, any problem, any enhancements, any risks or issues, I…

--

--

Srihari Udugani
Management Matters

Knowledge Made Simple and Structured, Decisions Made Clear. Happy success!