Managing Early Talent? Five Things Great Leaders Always Do

Anya C. Gonzales
Manager Mint Media
Published in
4 min readJul 7, 2016

Think about your first job. Now think about the manager at your first job. Did she steer you to future successes or did she make you want to quit in six months? In my short career, I have had great managers and not so great ones. Given those experiences, I believe that there are clear differences between leaders who win at managing those “annoying 20-something-year-olds” and bosses who have a high turnover rate.

Here are five things that leaders who rock at managing early talent always do:

1. They ask, “What’s next?”

During our first one-on-one, my manager at Jhana asked, “What do you think is the next step in your career journey; what do you want to do next?” I loved that question because it made me feel that she was invested in my professional development. She was thinking about success in my current role and teaching me how to control my career development. With that simple question, she encouraged me to work hard and also think about other ways I could add value to the company.

2. They create safe spaces

New graduates often enter the workforce with skewed advice on what they should and shouldn’t say to their boss. Some of this college advice is true; for example, bosses shouldn’t know all the details of a weekend trip to Vegas. However, there’s more to a healthy working relationship than drawing appropriate boundaries. Managers should make a habit of respectful and open communication with their direct reports, and it should flow both ways. Direct reports should expect redirecting feedback but should also feel comfortable airing concerns about work expectations, stress levels and missing tools. On the flip-side, direct reports should be open to problem-solving around these issues.

3. They instill confidence

This goes beyond “You Go Girl!” mantras at the Monday morning meeting. It’s actually about pushing back on perceived limitations. There will be times when you truly can’t assign a new project because three other projects are due. However, there will be other times when a direct report shies away from a new project because he’s afraid he lacks the skill-set to succeed. When this happens, I believe a great manager shows up for her direct reports and shows them just how capable they are.

Here’s an example. As an intern, I liaised with a digital marketer and a graphic designer to develop emails to our subscriber base. One week, several new projects left the graphic designer with little time to work on the emails. Stressed out, I turned to my boss for help. She smiled and said, “Have you asked him what you can do to help him meet the deadline? I think you can figure this one out.” Inspired, I walked to the designer’s desk and asked, “Jack, what can I do to help us meet this deadline?” Minutes later, I started adjusting pixel sizes on 50 pictures. It was a mundane task but necessary to keep the project on schedule. My boss’ vote of confidence helped me realize that I could fix a seemingly unsolvable problem…using the skill-set that I already had!

4. They support professional growth

Cheers to you if you are creating a space where your employees can tell you about their career goals. But the next step in this adventure is being on the alert for opportunities to accelerate those goals. When you are new or are an entry-level employee, it can be intimidating to ask to attend that “product briefing” or “yearly annual review.” So put meetings on their calendar. If you can, share non-sensitive goals and extend invitations to networking events that they may not be tuned into. When people feel like they can grow and develop within a company, they’re more likely to stay. It’s a win-win for everyone.

5. They aren’t afraid to start the party

A big part of happiness at work is meeting and forming connections with people that you like spending time with. It’s a great way to encourage direct reports to explore interests that aren’t necessarily related to their specific job roles. Is there a diversity committee they can join? Is there an events committee where they can explore their party planning skills? Is there a side project that they are itching to start? Let them know that they can go for it! As long as these extracurricular activities don’t distract from main priorities, they can help make work a more engaging place.

While success at work is a shared responsibility, I’ve found that managers who act in these five ways help their direct reports grow both professionally and personally. Having great leadership helps early talent to be more productive, more confident in their skills and more capable of making smart decisions about their careers.

Have you ever had a stand-out manager? How did he or she help you succeed?

--

--

Anya C. Gonzales
Manager Mint Media

Young. Woman. Immigrant. Opinionated. Thinks about management a lot. Thinks about marketing more often @JhanaInc.