Hispanic Heritage Month: Yo Soy Condado de Manatee

To celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month this year, we embraced the opportunity to highlight some of our Hispanic and LatinX staff doing #WorkThatMatters here at Manatee County Government. Learn more about how their heritage has made an impact in the work they do here at Manatee County.

Sheila Ballesteros-McLean, Budget Division Deputy Director

Department: Financial Management
Heritage: Mexican, Puerto Rican

“My upbringing has given me a unique perspective, and with that, I’ve been able to share my cross-cultural experiences with others I work with to help them gain a better understanding of where Hispanic people come from.”

Claudio Campos, Senior Budget Manager

Department: Financial Management
Heritage: Nicaraguan

“Watching my parents migrate here from a different country set an example for me to strive to be a better person, see things from a different perspective and help my community.”

Melissa Colón, Emergency Communications Training Officer

Department: Public Safety
Heritage: Puerto Rican

Debbie Deleon, Neighborhood Connections Manager

Department: Neighborhood Services
Heritage: Cuban

Sandra Guerra, Operations Manager

Department: Bradenton Area Convention & Visitors Bureau
Heritage: Mexican

“Where others may have limited experiences, I’m able to understand where people are coming from and make sure their needs don’t get lost in translation. Being able to bridge cultural gaps is a part of who I am.”

Rossina Leider, Planning Section Manager

Department: Building & Development Services
Heritage: Colombian/Venezuelan

“My Latin American roots help me to open my mind and my heart to understand different cultures, but most important to get the finest of each one to coexist in harmony.”

Hjalmar Pachas, Facilities & Building Tech

Department: Property Management
Heritage: Venezuelan

Juan Palacio, IT Technician

Department: Information Technology Services
Heritage: Colombian

--

--

Manatee County Government
MCGov Voices

We strive to serve the 411,000+ people who live here with excellence, preserving & enhancing the quality of life in Manatee County.